Meat on a stick and other oddities from China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Qinghai » Xining
June 10th 2010
Published: June 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well folks it has been a little while since I have sent an update on my travels. There are a few reasons for this, one; the internet places are few and far between and second I have not been real interested in sitting in front of a computer. This usually happens to me after a few months away, I get tired and just spend a few days sitting back and watching the world go by. No photos and no internet.

So here is a short synopsis of what has happened since my lat update.

Finished travelling along the Tibetan plateau and am now heading east towards Xi'an and the Tera Cotta warriers.

Spent one night camping along a massive lake and got to ride a local tibetan man's mtorcycle. That was pretty cool. Got a few photos to share later.

Woke up one morning and there was 2 inches of snow on everyones tent and the ground. Strange as I thought it was summer here? Then I found out we were at 4,000 meters (13,000 feet) so almost all rain turns into snow.

Saw wild animals galore, antelope, rabbits, hawkes, eagles, donkeys, camels, pheasants, marmots, gerbals, geese, ducks etcetc.

Now onto the fun stuff.

We had a group dinner to celebrate a few birthdays. Our chinese guide ordered for us and man was there some interesting choices including, cold DONKEY meat, 5 different kinds of HOT peppers, many different mushrooms (local) and other assorted delights.

A few towns later we were in our first major city (9.3 million people) and they have a fantastic night market where you can get almost anything you can think of cooked on a stick. Two of our group decided to try the goats head and yes it is exactly what I said a full goats head that has the top split open and you eat whats inside as well as the meat off the face. Not me, I stuck to the mystery meat on a stick.

Now for the adission and this will only happen once. There are photos and video but do not ask to see them as they are all locked away and will NEVER be posted on the internet.

The admission is as follows : I MIKE STRANGEWAY SANG KEREOKEE IN CHINA. There was a gropu of six of us found a bar were you can rent a room and a machine and go crazy. Well we did. Now you may ask yourself what songs would I sing if I could. Well there was the mandatory Bryan Adams, KISS and unfortunatly someone put on a Bon Jovi song. (stop laughing Sharon I still think Bon Jovi sucks)

Again I repaet that there WILL NOT be any photos posted on the internet. A few choice friends may see tham if they pay enough other than that I am sorry. As well there will NOT be any repeat performance within the boundries of North America EVER.

Now back to the regular blog.

I am getting close to finishing the China part of my trip (5 days left) and then off to the UK for a few weeks. I am trying to spend at least one day in Beijing and hope to see the Forbidden city as well as a few other sites.

That's it for now, look for one last CHina update from Xi'an and remamber FACEBOOK is banned in China so sending me messages via facebook will not be answered until I hit the UK.

Thanks for following along and see you when I get home, Mike



Advertisement



11th June 2010

Enjoy the remainder of your China trip and have fun in the UK!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb