Family, furnerals and new introductions


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Shenyang
September 12th 2010
Published: September 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We have only been here for less than two weeks and I feel like I have been here for months, so much has happened and we haven't even began teaching. We don't start our classes for another week! In spite of the sad atmosphere of a Grandmother's death everyone was happy that she was going to a better place and unlike American attitudes she even had a birthday cake, because on her deathday she was born into anther place. I wasn't sure if I was to keep my head down and be solemn but the whole family from all over China was so happy they had an excuse to gather than the vibe was mostly cheer, lots of dinners, speeches and toasts. Reasurance from the older members of the family to the younger members "we are here to guide you and support you" it was amazing, lots of love all around 😊 As I type this Tom's mother's sister is trying to give me more food, lol. I met Tom's sister and brothers, lots of funny similarities. Everyone told me how great my Chinese is getting and how beatiful I am, all in all best funeral ever. I modestly hope that my death will bring blood realtives from all over together to celebrate life 😊

The twelve hour train ride to get here on Wednesday was quite the cutural experience, food was embarassingly overpriced for example, 30 yuen for a very small portion of seseme snacks, although that isn't much in dollars we have had to start thinking in yuen because we are paid in yuen . Even though the train ride was 12 hours (at about 250 km/hour) each stop was only a minute or so, no time to buy anything else. I made a little friend with a 2 year old and she taught we Chinese and I taught her English, we hung out for probably 8 hours total. After a few hours her Mom started calling us Auntie and Uncle, "go learn English from your Auntie and Uncle", she would say to her. That made the ride shorter but there were people packed to the brim, standing for hours or laying down in the alise or doorway to nap, it was hard to walk anywhere but you couldn't really leave your seat comfortably. In addition to the crowding the train was REALLY LOUD (aka no sleeping), not the machine of the train but the people talking on their cellphones constantly, especially this guy Tom and I lovingly named "Loudy McTalks-too-much" This guy was such a douche everyone on the train was so tried of his loud voice, he even tried to make fun of me because I could say 'ni hao' but nothing else 😞 Tom handled it well but he only bothered us the last hour. We have to go on the 12 hour train again tomorrow starting at 6... neither of us are looking foward to it but next time we will take the 24 hour train because it has beds instead of hard 90 degree angle seats. for the wiiiin~!

We have Tom's Mom's camera now so we will be posting pictures soon, YAY! Speaking of Tom's Mom's she is really pressuring Tom to start having babies with me, which I thin is HILARIOUS because she doesn't pressure me at all just him lol. But I guess when you're celebrating life you think of wanting more little lifes around 😊

For our last day in the North we are pretty much just sitting around, which is a nice break from all the hectic shopping we were doing. Tom's Mom's brother and his wife took us shooping FOR HOURS two days in a row, which was awesome because they bought us a shit-load of stuff but also exhausting. There are big shopping complexes filled with little stores, we both got new shoes and clothes, and more tea than any human can consume lol. They were trying to make a good impression on me... and suceeded 😊

Speaking to Tom's younger brother was good because he is the same age (about 20) as the student we will be teaching, so I got an assement of the basic level with whom we will be working. EXCITING!!!

all for now, getting hungry


-Laura Bliss


p.s. Tom thinks KFC here is way better 😊

Advertisement



12th September 2010

Hello
Sounds like a fun adventure. 12 hours on a train. Sounds like a normal road trip for us. Their idea of death seems much healthier than ours in the US. How sweet you and a little two year old teaching each other. I wonder if you will see each other again on that long train ride. Hopefully you won't run into the annoying Mc talk alot again. More Grandkids sounds good, but all in your timng....Have fun, Love you, Miss you. Love , Mom
16th September 2010

omg photos
you must post photos!
26th September 2010

Missing China, Reading Your Post!
Aw, you make me miss China. ...Except for the train rides, LOL. I think it would have been easier for Matt & me if one of us had had family over there. I'm glad you're getting along with them! Yeah, why don't you & Tom start having some beautiful babies already! ;) And I know what you mean about getting paid in yuan. When we went traveling during the winter, people kept thinking we were filthy stinkin' rich, which would have been true, I guess, if we had been getting paid American wages. I'm looking forward to reading your next post about starting teaching... Colleen )> P.S. Matt is reading your comics. :)

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb