hospital


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Nanchang
January 24th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Baidu, the Google of China...Baidu, the Google of China...Baidu, the Google of China...

You can ask a question. I guess one of the most popular queries is "Why do you want to leave me?"
so.... i was contemplating a mc d's pineapple pie when my dainty self fell down a couple stairs, twisting my ankle, and literally almost passed out from the pain. after ten minutes of sitting on the ground (and being somewhat amused as an elderly man immediately whisked away the coke bottle i dropped) i attempted to walk again. i actually thought i was doing quite well hobbling along, but wei decided upon inspection that i had to go to a hospital and get checked out. i resisted, but wei insisted the hospital was close, and i wasn't in any condition to run away. so off we went to a "really good hospital, not a cheap one" as wei promised.

they don't check for ID- you just sign yourself in. so i let wei sign me in with chinese characters (my actual name... although ppl constantly ask wei if he named me, but that's another story) and paid the 7 RMB to be admitted. then we went to a room to be examined, although there were two other patients already in there, no one seemed to mind as the doctor discussed their issues and whatnot in front of everyone. i was examined almost immediately and sent for x-rays (108 RMB for two x-rays) which took 20 minutes to develop. i was a little skeptical about being around radioactive materials, but apparently no one else was, as they allowed wei to sit there with me and the aprons remained hanging on the wall.

when the x-rays were ready, they directed us to go back to the doctor we had just seen. he was behind the curtain with a screaming girl (i asked wei what she was in for, b/c i'm nosy i suppose- he said he didn't know as he didn't bother to listen in.... perhaps ppl are less curious when personal information isn't a secret) and i tried really, really hard not to get freaked out by the bloody q-tip on the desk. when the doctor came out, he told me that my bones were fine and to go home and rest. he prescribed some kind of spray medication (2 bottles- 40 RMB) and i went home with my shoe off, as my foot was beginning to swell and i couldn't get it back on.

well, i stayed in bed for four days. my leg swelled from mid-calf to toe and turned yellow, then reddish purple. i expect it will turn black soon. the pain was almost unbearable the second day. yesterday and today i limped around a little, hung out downtown and at the pet shop block and cleaned house. i still can't get any of my shoes on other than my ugg cardy boots (sweater-sock type pull on) and even those feel a little snug.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb