#25 Retiring teacher preparing to teach in China (Arriving in Shanghai, June 2006)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Taizhou
June 3rd 2006
Published: June 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Though the plane arrived two hours late in Shanghai, Arthur (the Foreign Affairs Director of Taizhou Teachers College and my good friend) waited patiently to meet me at the massive Shanghai Pudong Airport, and help me with my luggage, for which I had to pay an additional $25 for the over-weight. They told me, that there was no charge for my body's overweight :-) ... lucky me. From Miami to Chicago, the flight took almost 4hrs, and from Chicago to Shanghai another 15 hrs. But as luck would have it, in my row, I had 5 seats to myself, and it became a comfortable bed. Though the meals activated a volcanic heart-burn, airline-food seems to get more plastic with every trip, the direct flight seemed easier, though more expensive.

Arrival at Shanghai-Pudong Airport was harmless, and customs urged me through quickly, after checking Passport and Visa. There was no check and search of luggage, and the whole process seemed easier then on my departure from Miami International Airport. Shanghai Airport is an impressive glass structure, with large expansion ongoing. Shanghai will host the 2010 World's Fair, and the German built Magnetic Levetation train from and to the Airport , traveling at 380 mph,
will transport visitors in no time to their local destination. It is a magnificent marvel of technology. Such a train would make the trip from Miami to Orlando not only a great experience, it would greatly reduce car-traffic, pollution, and enhance Florida's tourist industry. Let our Governor know, please.

The trip to the College lasted some 4 hrs, and I was safely deposited in my new college apartment, (with balcony I might add). German, as I am, I could not go to sleep until everything was unpacked and put in its place. The first night on my some-what "harder" bed passed and the tooooooooting of car horns, truck horns, bus horns, moped horns, motorcyle horns, in all tones and duration, made sleeping after 7a.m. impossible. Commerce and traffic starts early in the streets of Taizhou and ends late.

With me at the College will be another Veteran teacher from Australia, a "fountain" of wonderful information on what is about to await me in and out of the class-room. She is a "dynamo" of a lady, someone adapt to be a great teacher and interesting person. I have already learned much from her detailed conversations, all in a beautiful "Down-Under Australian" accent. Together we went shopping for some needed things, and I was amazed at the size of the store and the variety goods. I have taken photos, but it will take time to post them, since my two electrical-converters seem not to be "converting" too well. :-(

This second night commenced with "serious" fire-works right out-side my balcony window, announcing another wedding-festival in the restaurant across the street. At first I thought it was to announce my arrival in Taizhou, but Sue made it clear, that I was to expect this display nightly, and she was doubtful that it was in my honor. But in every other way, the appearence of a Western face in the streets of this "small" city of 5 million, is cause for surprise, giggles, and smiling hello's.
(Chef Wayne, could you please call my sister and Ron, and let them know I have arrived safely, and will figure out the telephone situation over the next days, thank you).









Advertisement



3rd June 2006

safe arrival
Hey ya Unc...glad you made it safely...you seem to be off to a good start. Have fun.
3rd June 2006

Intersting Information, but . . .?
We are all glad you arrived safely, and enjoyed the "festival in your Honor?', but I do have one question regarding the German Mag-Lev train - did you mean to say 380 mph, or was it 380 kmh. The miles per hour is Jet speed, while 380 kmh is still almost 100 kmh more than the TGV. No matter, we still hope to hear more from you in the future. J David sends his best to you.
3rd June 2006

Schneider! im glad to hear that you have arrived safely and that everything is going well! keep in touch! i miss you! your former student, melissa e.
3rd June 2006

Good Luck
Hans, Good luck on your new adventure. Glad to hear everything went well and that you've arrived safely. I really admire you for what you're doing and know those students will be lucky to have someone like you to teach them.
3rd June 2006

Ni hao!
Dear Hans, I love your blog and I read it avidly every time I get a chance. I am sad I did not get to wish you a Bon voyage but I am sure you are going to have a great time in China. I need to convince Marianne that we should go and visit. In any case, though our contact has been quite gering in the past few years, your love of teaching and your generosity of spirit will be missed in Miami. I will you all the best in China and I look forward to reading your blogs. All the best and a big hug from Miami. JC
3rd June 2006

i see you are having a good time!
HEY SCHNEIDER
3rd June 2006

hello from miami
hey Schneider! it sounds like your adjusting quite well over there. I hope the food at the college is more appetising than that of the plane ;-) Anyways my family and I just wanted to say hi and wish you luck in the classroom. take care!
3rd June 2006

i see you are having a good time!
HEY SCHNEIDER YOU ARE SO FUNNY...I SEE THAT YOU HAVE A NEW AUSTRALIAN FRIEND (I CAN SEE A LITTLE FLIRTING GOING ON THERE...ITS THE ACCENT, I LOVE IT TOO! LOL)WELL IT SEEMS LIKE EVERYTHING IS GOING WELL. I LOVED YOUR LAST ENTRY, IT MADE ME CRY, BECAUSE YOU ARE SUCH A GREAT TEACHER AND I HATE LOSING YOU, BUT YOU ARE NOW GOING TO BE A GREAT TEACHER OVER THERE. THANKS FOR KEEPING US POSTED, I LOVE SEEING CHINA THROUGH YOUR EYES IT MAKES IT SO MUCH MORE FUN. LOTS OF LOVE MARU
3rd June 2006

awesome
holy crap schneider... it is surreal to picture that you're finally over there. im so happy for you :) i want your converter to work ASAP! and by the way, i think they were wrong... those fireworks were definately for you. much love to you
4th June 2006

Happy Arrival
Glad to hear you made the journey in one piece. I know that you are probably still walking on air, and feeling a big change in your daily routine now. We called the morning of your departure date, but realized that you were probably out getting the last of the bagels or apple Strudel. Hope to talk soon. Love Jer
4th June 2006

Hi - glad you made it safely
I'm glad you arrived safely! Please try not to make it into the newspaper over there - no Miami Vice in Ludwigshafen!
4th June 2006

June 3, 2006
I am very glad that you have arrived safely to Shanghai. I hope you do not have difficulty adapting to the new environment that surrounds you now. I assure you that the noises at late night and early morning will start bothering you at first, but you'll get use to them. I hope they have welcomed you in a way that you feel comfortable and happy. Good luck and you will adapt very easily.-Karla Rivera
4th June 2006

Hey Mr Schneider!!! I'm sooo glad that you made it safely to China! I hope you enjoy it there and to remind you that we are all going to miss you dearly here in CGHS. well, be safe!
4th June 2006

schneidi
hope you have an amazing time over there schneider. i already miss you like crazy :( care packages coming soon.
4th June 2006

Good Job
Herr Schneider, I am glad that you have arrived safely in Taizhou, although it seemed that there was somewhat of a delay. But from here I can only hope you to have a wonderful time over there in China and prosper in anyway possible, be it intellectually or economically.
6th June 2006

miss u in the states
Guten Tag Herr Schneider, Wie geht es Ihnen? Well i wanted to send u a comment in german but im a little rusty. Im glad u arrived safely in Taizhou. I miss u so much and want u to know that u have a place to stay if u come back to visit us. Well looking forward to hearing more about your Chinese experience. But for now, Viel Gluck und Melden Sie sich doch mal!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb