Incomplete list of great Chinglish names


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
November 19th 2007
Published: November 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, many of my students have chosen or been given some hilarious English names. I've put together a short list of my favorite names. I hope to add to this list as I spend more time here in China. Ok, so my favorite names so far are:

Yummy
Deathknight
X-ray
Cappuccino
Cinderella
Eleven
Jill (boy's name)
Ian (girl's name)
Lion
Recnaduzi (formerly known as Whisper, but is ironically outspoken in class)
Ronaldinho (as in the Brazilian soccer player...naming oneself after athletes is quite common)
Sprite
Fat Cat
Lion
Legolas
Leaf
Panda
Garden
Wonderful

You know that you're getting used to teaching in China when you stop feeling awkward saying things like, "Cappuccino, do you have something to add to this discussion“ or "Great speech X-ray!"


If you happen to be/have been in China and heard any other good ones, don't hesitate to send me a message.




Advertisement



26th November 2007

When in China, due to my insane flow abilities, I usually refer to myself as either the rhymenocerous, or the hiphopopottamus.
3rd January 2008

Names
I'm teaching in Shandong province and have a boy named mirror and a girl named Mars
28th August 2010

Names
Some students and ex-students at my school are/were... Ironman Streetfighter Cigar City Vitamin B W.C. Lemon Plum Rainbow Funny Bamboo C (he later changed his name to S) Sunshine Rabbit Elvis Hamlin Go Go Song Rocky and... David

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb