More classes


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
September 7th 2007
Published: September 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am currently listening to the drive, it streams live world wide so of course we listen. Just thought I would share that with you all.
Yesterday Sarah and I walked around campus and the town and took photos of the area.

Today I had another oral english class. When I walked in they all clapped and cheered. This job is such an ego boost 😊 they also told me I am lovely and they want to be my friend. The computer in my classroom was busted so they didnt get to see my pictures but I shared a lot about myself. I had to write my syllabus on the board and the chalk gave me a cough, I dont know how teachers do it! They asked about my childhood, my school, if i fight with my sister or my cousins (I explained that my cousins are like sisters and brothers to me). I said that Laura and I argued when we were little but then we became best friends. They also asked how my parents met. The loved the story and were totally excited when I said Mom agreed to go out with Dad in high school. It was
Our BuildingOur BuildingOur Building

This is the wall we have to climb if we arrive home after 11pm.
cute, they all really enjoy romantic stories.
they all shared that they would like to learn about American culture; movies, music, fashion, politics (im not allowed to talk about) and rituals. this class was very talkative and excited. My favorite names from this class are Kancy, Vann (a girl),Volin (not violin), Dingo and Penguin.
Laura and I have class at the same time so we tried out the big cafeteria on campus. We met Sarah and tried to push our way through the masses to get a glimpse of what each stall was serving. The funny thing about china and line is that they dont exist. When there is food being served or any time there is something being given out one at a time everyone just shoves their way to the front and it doesnt matter if you have been there for 1 hour if you dont shove you dont eat. this is a hard habit to break, line forming. In america people form lines even if they dont know what is at the front we just get in line to avoid having to wait longer by going to the beginning to see what you are waiting for. China
Our BuildingOur BuildingOur Building

This is the gate to our building.
has no lines and 'cutting' is acceptable. We tried to shove and we did end up getting food. The cafeteria was packed because after 11:40 and before 2:30 it is siesta so everyone has to eat at this time. And this afternoon at noon they all were there to eat. I saw a lot of my students and they said hello and I didnt know their names or which class they are in. We bought cold drinks and they serve beer their also. Laura and I have a 2:30 class so I got a pepsi but it was odd to see that the cafeteria served beer.
I then had my second oral english class and these students were also very helpful. I am glad that so many are ready to help and willing to explain things patiently to me. My power point didnt work again so I winged it. Some questions they had for me were what do americans do on the weekend. Steph I explained how you and Joe wakeboard and they thought you were very brave. 😊 I also explained about coffee shops, because Laura and I often go to starbucks to talk and to read. They think
Our BuildingOur BuildingOur Building

The backside of the building.
I lead a very comfortable lifestyle. Many of them asked about holidays and religion. It is hard for me to talk about things and not mention religion so I just skirt around that issue. One of my students asked me if I have read the bible. Some of my favorite names in this class are Snow, Journey (a girl), Shirley, Gretl, Beryl, Acosta, Eowyn (I think from Lord of the Rings), Summer, Klose, Cyril, Mars, Channy and Cloudy. Some good names if I do say so! These kids are just so eager to learn anything American including some favorite sites to visit in America, fashion, rich and poor people, religion, popular music etc. I know that we will have a great year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Shir Fou's HouseShir Fou's House
Shir Fou's House

This is the house of the husband and wife Shir Fou, translates to someone who knows more about something than you do, who take care of our building.
CourtyardCourtyard
Courtyard

This is the courtyard outside of the building.
Our BuildingOur Building
Our Building

This is the frontside of our building.
Our BuildingOur Building
Our Building

This is the formal title of our building. There are lots of foreigners here every morning making a lot of noise.
The campus HotelThe campus Hotel
The campus Hotel

Mom and Laura you can stay here because I dont have two rooms.
The ViewThe View
The View

This is the beautiful view from the east side of campus over looking the city.
The ViewThe View
The View

This is the beautiful view from the east side of campus over looking the city.
The ViewThe View
The View

This is the beautiful view from the east side of campus over looking the city.
The Main DragThe Main Drag
The Main Drag

This is the side walk from the east to the north part of campus on the main street. The sidewalks throughout the city and our campus have these cement drainage blocks over the middle of the sidewalk, it is better than the grates they have in Chicago.
The Main DragThe Main Drag
The Main Drag

This is the science building.
The Main DragThe Main Drag
The Main Drag

This is one of the many carts found on the streets.
The ParkThe Park
The Park

This is the large park where they hold English corner every thursday and friday evening. We have been told that people from all over the city are welcomed here and they speak with one another in english. However because CCNU is primarily women the science college boys come here for english corner to pick up girls. We have also heard that Americans get mobbed by people wanting to speak with them.
Bamboo forestBamboo forest
Bamboo forest

On the way to north gate.
Elementary schoolElementary school
Elementary school

The teachers children often attend this school and other students in the area. They attend 6 days a week.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb