Five Dynasties Within the Yellow Crane Tower


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
August 2nd 2018
Published: August 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

I was out the door on the next day, with a much earlier than my normal start time, that I could complete my first attempt to reach Yellow Crane Tower. As I found it, I was relieved that I had an earlier start time that day. The sheer scope of places I needed to visit was huge which isn’t truly amazing for me after my time in China. Finding historical and botanical sites that could barely be covered within a day if you luckily started when the gates opened in the morning is a normal event. Yellow Crane Tower, for the large touristic area it covered, was actually done easily within the afternoon. The amount of stairs wasn’t as daunting to me anymore with all the walking and stair climbing I had done between my first return to Wuhan and now. As I prepared to cross the “toll gate” into the grounds of Yellow Crane Tower, I took three (3) deep breaths to rein in the excitement that had taken me. It was another adventure of learning as I got to travel back in time into China’s life story.

The grounds both looked manicured and overgrown when compared to the sites I had visited in my youth in Canada and the USA. The abundance of nature surrounding the stone pathways was as amazing as the architecture of the structures I came across during my afternoon walk. Like many places I have visited in China, the multiple pathways to go around the historical areas seemed to multiply the deeper I entered. Many “gates” adorned the pathways. Some of these gates were simple but wonderfully sculpted while other larger gates hosting Chinese “Guardian Dogs” showed how complex these gates truly could be. The Plum Garden showed off Wuhan’s flower (the plum flower) and gave a wondrous spectacle to see.

Other beautiful sights here includes the many sculptures (both by hand and naturally made), paintings, varying architectures (based on the differing 5 dynasties), calligraphy, gardens, the remains of the walls protecting this tower, and let’s not forget the stunning view. You cannot go into a site in China that doesn’t have stores. It is more of a convenience and memento variety found within most of these large open field areas. Each open floor of the actual Yellow Crane Tower is filled with beauty and history including the miniatures showing how the area changed between the 5 dynasties up to the modern day. A show of the foggy march at the feet of the Turtle, Snake, and 2 Celestial Cranes found at the foot of the tower itself.

Upon the grounds different changing exhibits and permanent exhibit can be found to delight both eyes and imagination. The Xi Shuang Pavilion would be the best example of the permanent displays showing the wonderful calligraphy. Not all calligraphy was done on paper. Many calligraphy artists where equally qualified as sculptors and etchers making their words live longer upon great stones and Steles that a few survived until today while others where created to memorialize the great artists in China’s long art history. My day was done while the sun still shone brightly in the sky. The weather had been in my favor during this long exploratory walk around the grounds of Yellow Crane Tower.


Additional photos below
Photos: 583, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb