Christmas Time is Here


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Danjiangkou
December 26th 2010
Published: December 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Apples, ApplesApples, ApplesApples, Apples

Aren't they cute though?
...and now it's gone, but I'm going to tell you about it anyway.

We'll start with Christmas Eve.

Well I was in bed at about 11 when Kyle sent a message asking if I had seen the snow outside and if I was going to eat lunch. I wrote him back and said I hadn't looked outside, and I asked what time he was going to go. He said it was just a dusting, and he'd probably go around 11:30. I said okay. In between the time I sent the message asking what time and his reply I told myself to just get out of bed. So I got up and got ready. I put on lots of layers.

We ended up at the lady's place after searching for milk tea for Kyle. There wasn't any in the little Jing Hua or the stand close to the gate, so he went to some internet cafe place and got the very last bottle. I didn't get anything. So we ate crunchy rice. I got pork and mushrooms, and he got the sour bean and tofu stuff. We also got potatoes in the middle. It was really good. He said
Card from StudentsCard from StudentsCard from Students

This is the weirdest looking Christmas card I've ever gotten.
that he wanted those potatoes for Christmas.. just a big bowl of them.. the size of the table. haha.

After lunch I came in and delayered a little bit, and then I ended up taking a nap. Yeah, I've got the good life. ha.

I went and checked for my package, but it hadn't come yet. On the way home, I got a text message from a student asking if she could visit me because she had something for me. I said that was fine. So I tried cleaning up some. J sent a message asking if I wanted to have dinner and play Phase 10. Ruth came over and gave me a present, and then she asked where Kyle was. I said I wasn't sure. She asked where Nahoko was. I said, "I bet they're together." She said, "No, Nahoko is in her apartment." So I reminded her that Nahoko lives in J & P's building. She ran off because she had something to do.

My student turned into students. They're from my Friday class. They gave me a card, and then they gave me a Christmas tree with a broken stand.. one boy tried setting
Card from StudentsCard from StudentsCard from Students

This is the inside. :)
it up, and he had to lean it up against something. ha. Then they handed me this huge box.. that was super heavy. It was filled with apples. The apples had little squares of paper taped to them with drawings of each student in the class. It. was. cute. I told them thank you about a million times, and then they asked if we could take photos together. I said sure.. so everyone was trying to fit where we were in the entry room. I suggested going to the living room because maybe there would be more room. So they followed me in and took a ton of pictures. So then they say, "We want to sing you a song." Okay. This boy had grabbed my broom, and when they started singing, he started pretending it was a guitar. ha! So I asked if they would do it again so I could get it on video. Two boys sang another song to me, but I didn't record it. They left, and I cleaned up the floor where they had tracked in all that dirt.

I headed over to J & P's at about 6. P had made meatloaf, mashed
Christmas TreeChristmas TreeChristmas Tree

Notice it only has 2 legs. ha
potatoes and green beans. It was super good. I was right about Kyle and Nahoko being together. She made him dinner.. so they came up at 7:30. While we were playing, someone's assistant came and gave us our Christmas presents.. well, J & P got theirs. The girl didn't realize we were all sitting there, I guess, so she just gave J & P theirs. J got a belt that is too small and a pair of gloves. P got a snowglobe that plays a lullaby. We played a good game of Phase 10, and I was the champion by 20 points. I was pretty glad.

Kyle and I walked home, and we opened our presents. Kyle tried on his belt. It barely fit, and then he couldn't figure out how to get it off. It was a weird belt. He was like, I have to go to the bathroom!! I'm never wearing this belt again! Ha. I tried helping, but it was to no avail. He finally got it off. I got a snowglobe too. It's pretty cute, but it reminds me of babies.

I ended up staying up pretty late just hanging out on the internet,
Present from RuthPresent from RuthPresent from Ruth

I'll get back to you when I know what it is/does.
and then I went to bed.

I was woken up on Christmas by a message, and when I saw that it only said, "Merry Christmas..." and some other stuff, I was like, eh.. and I went back to sleep. I woke up again when P sent me a message asking if I wanted to go to town with her and J. I ended up saying no.. and then Kyle sent me a message saying he probably wasn't eating lunch and that he was going to go look for some stuff to help him make his cookies later. I told him I needed an egg, so he said he'd look for some.

I took a shower, and I got a call from P saying that she found Aeropostale jeans and American Eagle sweaters. She was so excited that she couldn't even concentrate enough to talk to me. ha. Kyle brought me eggs, and then I started cooking... see we decided that we'd go out for dinner instead of cooking a whole lot of food for dinner, but that we would come home and eat desserts and watch Christmas movies.

I decided since I got all those apples from
Present from the SchoolPresent from the SchoolPresent from the School

Kinda reminds me of babies.
students that I'd make something with those. I found a recipe for an apple crumb thing, so I started with that. I accidentally added too much salt.. oops. Oh well. What I had forgotten is that it takes like an hour to cook it. Luckily I started in time. While I was preparing cookie dough I got a message from Kyle saying his cookies looked really good. He was making those cow patty cookies, and he was proud. ha. I got the apple stuff out, and it smelled soooo good. I tasted a little bit that had bubbled up. It was good.. even with the extra salt. ha. I put in some cookies and then I started working on getting dressed and ready.

I made it before 5.. we were supposed to meet at the bus gate at 5. Kyle called and asked if I was taking my desserts over to J & P's now or later. I said I was done and ready, so we decided we'd take them then. He also made a cheesecake with no crust, but he put chocolate sauce on top of it. mmmm..

We all got to the bus and on the
Card from RobertCard from RobertCard from Robert

Not real Christmas-y either.
bus, and we went to the center part of town. We got off, and we went to this one restaurant that we knew had steak. Apparently HP doesn't like stairs that you can see through. She WOULD NOT climb up them.. so I picked her up and carried her. We sat down at a table, and we got a menu that was nothing but Chinese. So Nahoko asked if they had Western food. They didn't. Okay, so sometime within the last few months they've completely changed the restaurant. We left. ha

We went to the place that has "pizza", and they gave us this little tiny menu that only had a few choices. Ridiculous. They had steak though, so J was happy. He got a t-bone, Kyle got a black pepper steak, Nahoko got some kind of spaghetti that had bacon in it, and P and I got the black pepper pasta. It was good. J went and bought us all something to drink because we didn't really want hot water. So we paid and left.

And then we headed to J & P's apartment. We immediately got plates out and started chowing down on the desserts we
Card from RobertCard from RobertCard from Robert

Inside of the card.
made. I could only eat one of everything.. I was about to die from sugar overload. So once again, we made way too much.. but that's normal. P made truffles and Oreo balls, J made some kind of oatmeal cookies, and Nahoko made these chocolate covered cluster things.. I'm serious, it was crazy. We watched How The Grinch Stole Christmas, Nestor the Long Eared Donkey (weird movie), and then we watched tv show Christmas episodes.. Alf, Andy Griffith, Sanford & Son, and Fresh Prince. It was pretty awesome.

While we were watching, Zoe called. Kyle and I studied with her and Silver last year. She wished us all a Merry Christmas. I also got a message from some students. They told me to open my door and look down. I told them I wasn't home, and they said that they left me gifts outside. Okay.

Kyle and I walked home, and I had forgotten about the gifts.. and then there it was. 2 fish in a bowl and what I can only think to call a Chinese knot. ha.

I came in and my kitten started drinking the fish water. Good, huh? At least she didn't immediately
Apples Put to UseApples Put to UseApples Put to Use

Apple Crumb Bake
start trying to eat them. I ended up having to move the bowl to my room because she was starting to look at the fish funny. ha.

I talked to one of my professors from Freed, and I enjoyed that. I promise, no matter what, after almost every time I finish talking to him my face hurts from laughing and smiling so much. Ridiculous.. but incredibly enjoyable.

And then it was family time a little later. I got to talk to my nephew which was the most exciting part. Man that kid's awesome. Every now and then he would just randomly go, "Brenda, I love you." Makes. my. heart. melt. I miss him sooo much.

Anyway, I got to bed preeetty late. It was like 3 or 4 in the morning. Good times.

So I had a very good Christmas in China. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Apples Put to UseApples Put to Use
Apples Put to Use

Apple Crumb Bake
Alive FishAlive Fish
Alive Fish

It's still kickin'
Alive FishAlive Fish
Alive Fish

From above.
Alive FishAlive Fish
Alive Fish

Swimmin around.
Alive FishAlive Fish
Alive Fish

Who gives someone a fish for Christmas??
Pants!Pants!
Pants!

So these are from town.. the store is called ITAT. They're Aeropostale. I've never had a pair of Aeropostale jeans in my life.
Pants!Pants!
Pants!

They were only 20 yuan!
Sweaters!Sweaters!
Sweaters!

From American Eagle.. CRAZY. Actually, what's crazier is that I found something that fits! Ha
Sweaters!Sweaters!
Sweaters!

One in each color! That's how I roll.
FingernailsFingernails
Fingernails

Okay I never paint my nails, but for some reason I was feeling crazy.. This is the first thing I did.
FingernailsFingernails
Fingernails

And then I decided, hey, why not paint Christmas trees on my fingers?? ha


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb