Day 12 - Shaolin Monestry, Kung Fu school, Dharma cave, Chuzu Temple, Wuru Peak in Song Mountain


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan » Zhengzhou
August 2nd 2013
Published: August 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Big day today, We have lots to do, and it will all be physically challenging! I have been dreading this walk! We are going to watch the Shaolin Monks perform in their performance area in the Shaolin Temple area.

We got mini buses to the main area, then that is the end of being spoilt. We set of for the performance. It was unbelievable. They are so graceful, yet so strong, and some are very young. The school has about 8000 students being taught Kung Fu there. Fabio and Gloria went on a volunteers, they both did really well. Fabio won!

After the performance we set off for Dharma cave where a nun has been living and meditating for four years. It is wwaaaaaaayyyyyyy up towards Wuru Peak on Song Mountain. It was such a hard hike. Probably my hardest ever! I was soooo pleased that I actually made it up there. If Jason hadn't have come back for me I don't think I would have made it! Bless him!

When I got to the. Cave, I just about collapsed on the nuns bench! I ate some bread that I had prepared earlier, had a drink, then I came round! I then carried on to the top of the mountain where the Dharma statue is. It was so high up I felt giddy!

After a rest we came back down about half way to drop in on the Chuzu Temple, which is where the nuns live. They take meals up to the nun in the cave. We continued walking to see the pagoda forest, which is lots of pagodas in one very small area. It is the only place that this occurs in China.

Next we went into the Shaolin Temple itself. It is quite amazing. It is bigger than I expected, full of small areas. It isn't the original building as it has been burned down so many times over the history of China. The monks always rebuild the temple every time this happens. The last time was in 1928. It was still impressive. By this point, as you can imagine, we were all absolutely shattered! The mini buses picked us up to go back to the hostel.

Dinner was already for us. We had a couple of hours to get showered, re-pack, and chill...... Just a little bit, before setting off again. At 4.40 the Madter is picking us up to take us to the bus station. We have a 2 hour bus ride to Ghegzhou, then another overnight train to Beijing.



Pics to follow


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



2nd August 2013

China
Love to see a photo of the temple
3rd August 2013

Hi there!
I should get a pic of the temple uploaded today. I have moved on to Beijing and now have Internet for an hour or do. The temple area, and everything around there was amazing, but the temple itself is not original at all. It has been rebuilt many times due to various rebellions. The only original part is a f Our in one of the rear buildings!
2nd August 2013

Once a Pilgrim!
Pilgrim end is SAMARKAND - even the Shaolin passed through there! You Lucky So & SO!
3rd August 2013

Hello
Wow it sounds and looks like your having the best time! You look very good doing the yoga / karate moves! It sounds full on with the early mornings and (5 minute!) walks / hikes! But I always think the most beautiful places are always a bugger to get to - otherwise everyone would see them and they wouldn't be so special! You will never want a Chinese again after all the rice and noodles!! Ill make sure your welcome back meal isn't Mr Chu's!!! I think you are in Beijing by now which I bet is a totally different experience so hope your enjoying it! Looking forward to the next instalment of Lesley does China!!! Love you x x x x

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb