Day 13 - Overnight train to Beijing, Great Wall, camping out


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Great Wall of China
August 4th 2013
Published: August 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 13 - Overnight train to Beijing, Great Wall, camping out
We had luxury in the first class part of the overnight train, that's not 'real' luxury, just luxury after what we have been used to! it's only a 4 to a compartment carriage, so you could actually sit up without banging your head. A partition so that you could actually close the door, a carpet! two cushions, and a thicker mattress! Now that's luxury!

We arrived in Beijing at about 7am to be met by our new guide..... Noodle. He took us to the hostel where we left our bags upstairs whilst we had something to eat, a shower and got sorted out. We then had a couple of hours to explore the surrounding areas.

Beijing seems so clean and much more civilised, but then I suppose that's because it is a large city! I bought some brilliant Chinese shoes.

At 1.30 we set off in a minibus for the Badlanging something section of the wall. We arrived at about 4pm and started the climb. It was so surreal being there. You read about it, see it on the news, but being there was strange. It is a beautiful area, but to be honest, it was a bit of a disappointment! I totally enjoyed it, but so much of it is rebuilt due to the dilapidation ! I feel I am selling it short, but I don't want to, it was as it was. I really enjoyed spending time there, I am pleased I have been. I wouldn't have missed it for anything.

After the wall we headed back to the minibus to be taken to the farm for dinner. the farm was out in the middle of nowhere! Everyone enjoyed the meal, but ism feeling like I have a cold coming, so had no appetite. I did eat a bit of rice and veg. I have been sneezing all day and my nose is blocked. I am on antibiotics for the bites, so should pull round quickly!

After dinner we went back on the minibus to be taken to where we are camping on the wall tonight. The tents were much better than I had expected. I am sharing with Laura. We have just bedded down, let's see how the night unfolds... I just head Sintje shout, "guys we are camping on the wall in China!" Wow... Can you believe it? I can't !


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



4th August 2013

Catch up from Donna
Hi Lesley. back from my hols and catching up on your blog. Kos was absolutely beautiful and we had a fantastic time. We got a quad bike and travelled the island, the bluest seas and stunning coves. i know I love the Greek Islands but think this was one of the prettiest. food was really good and wine really cheap so definitely have to go back on My Fitness app :-( . Went to open Peter Pan yesterday and ended up staying as Olga and Sylvia were a no show, been trying to contact to see if all ok but nothing yet. It was the Sesh yesterday in the Fruit Market, saw Beth there looking good, have put a photo on facebook of M with his dj earphones on!! Missing yoga so looking forward to a couple of sessions on Tuesday with Ella. Denise said that they had a really good class last week as a few of us were on hols it was almost like private tuition, v jealous. Hope China as good as it looks in your blog, going to spend time this afternoon looking at all that i have missed, loved the warrior pose by the Terracotta Army :-) Keep safe ,and will catch up again a lot sooner, lots of love D&M x
4th August 2013

Hi Donna
Hi Don, great to hear you enjoyed Kos. I am having a bit of a down day today, as I feel so ill! Only a common cold, but that is so hard when it is about 40 degrees!! I am sure I will feel a lot better tomorrow as I have every medication available! Xxxxx
4th August 2013

Chin up
Hi Les Hope you feeling a bit better, probably sheer bloody exhaustion looking at what you have been doing!!!! I can feel a size 8 coming on when you get home from this holiday, so I will have to get my act together, but we are just having Sunday dinner, minty gravy!! will save you some with some crusty bread for when you get home. Kerry and I have just gone through all of your days and I am bloody envious and Kerry thinks you are amazing but would not do it in a hundred years, she would just be crying at the bottom of the mountain!!! Show us a picture of you in your yoga trousers and chuck something else out of your backpack and buy me some if i like them :-)
5th August 2013

Great Wall - Amazing - Keep Going Lol..xx Dim.
6th August 2013
The Great Wall

wow
mum the great wall looks amazing!!! wheres ur bloody yoga pose here??? xxxxx im sooo glad ur feeling better - its Tuesday morning here. Ive not had internet all weekend coz we've been on the retreat!!! it seems ur really having so much fun, shopping and sight seeing. all the pics lok so amazing :) xxx I was thinking wowsa - camping on the great wall of china - no way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! xxzxxxxx

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb