Reactions


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hebei » Tangshan » Zunhua
September 6th 2012
Published: September 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, perhaps you are wondering how people are reacting to the new foreign teacher. Is it similar to Korea? In short, no.

I thought Korea had prepared me for stares, but it was nothing compared to here. The situation is obviously amplified as I might be one of five foreign people some of the people in this area have ever seen in real life.

However, I would have expected the students to react a little less shocked. They have, after all, had a foreign teacher before. Most of the younger students look shocked to see me, and generally stare. I get a couple "hello's" from the braver ones. The high schoolers are more curious about the "new teacher" than the fact that I'm not Chinese. Most of them don't really pay me any attention as I walk around campus.

The staff also go between openly staring and seeming totally normal about the fact that I'm here.

Best reaction yet (and this is not exagerated in any way) - I was walking down the hall and a student was hurrying towards me. When the student, I'm going to guess he was maybe 11, caught sight of me he SCREAMED, slipped, and fell on the floor.

Advertisement



6th September 2012

That's awesome. At least he didn't start running the opposite direction?
6th September 2012

If you were in america they would say: ''person from mars' what do they say in china?
9th September 2012

hmm that's a good question. I don't know. Maybe they just think "weird"
6th September 2012

Maybe it was love!
maybe he was so in love!
7th September 2012

Reaction!!!
LOL! Did he let you help him stand up?!?!?!
9th September 2012

I actually didn't help him up because I was laughing too hard.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb