That sinking feeling when you realize you are are the only foreign person for miles and miles....


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hebei » Tangshan » Zunhua
August 30th 2012
Published: August 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Things here aren't exactly what I was expecting, nor are they what I was told to expect. The people at the school (which is not the company that hired me) are really nice and helpful, but I'm still working out how I feel about the situation.

I was told that I would be living and working in Tangshan City, which is 1hour from Beijing by train. I was really excited about this because it would allow me to get to Beijing very easily, as well as facilitate travel to other parts of China over long weekends. Instead, I find myself in the west of Luannan County, next to a town. Outside my apartment window I can see an open area, and a pig farm. Yes, a farm. I can reach Tangshan City, which is 50 kilometers away, by bus. However, the bus stops running at 6 p.m.

There are also no other foreign teachers. I am the only foreign person between Luannan and Tangshan City. SHOCK! The coworkers that I was told about will not be arriving until October 8th. Until then, it is up to me to give all the students English demo-lessons in grade-wide classes.

I'm not sure how the classes will be because I haven't started teaching, but I was pretty upset when I found out where I had actually been dropped off. My worst fear about coming to China was being driven out to the middle of nowhere, dropped off among some chickens, and told "teach." I thought that I had avoided this danger by signing with a company that promised to place me in a city and provide me with lesson plans, etc. Not the case. As I waited for the bus into town today, some chickens looked for bugs nearby. I've been assured that I can use the curriculum I was promised in October, when the other teachers get here, but until then I'm on my own.

When I called the company to voice my feelings on the situation and the fact that I was mislead as to what I was getting into, the boss offered me some incentives to stay. This weekend, and every month, I will get an all expenses paid trip to Beijing. That, along with some other perks and the fact that the Chinese teachers here who do speak some English are very nice, might make
The scary vegetable marketThe scary vegetable marketThe scary vegetable market

I say scary because the food doesn't look fresh at all
the situation ok.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



31st August 2012
The view from my window

Looks....quiet.
You will be happy to be back to the little city of Cary! Not so little anymore.
31st August 2012

it will get better......................thinking of you.
31st August 2012

Canada et USA c'est beaucoup mieux que la CHINE. Bonne chance

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb