Almost Thanksgiving


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
November 22nd 2011
Published: November 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Exactly a month left in China. It’s a little weird to think that soon this will all be just a memory. I’ve gotten so used to living here; it may be stressful to come home, especially with all the hustle and bustle of Christmas. Despite my semester coming to a close, exciting things are still happening.

We had a break from our usual two and a half hour business class when our professor took us on a walk to a park near West Lake. It was really nice because the area was so quiet; I almost forgot we were in the middle of a big city. We saw a few couples taking wedding photos, so that was fun to watch. Wedding photos here seem a lot more like a fashion photo shoot than just wedding pictures. The girls always wear a crazy dress and have very magazine model-ish poses. We didn’t stay long because the bugs were starting to bite.

We’re planning our Thanksgiving dinner for Thursday. At first, we were just going to cook some spaghetti and make garlic bread for dinner since we don’t have an oven, but then I saw an advertisement for a restaurant offering Thanksgiving dinner in a magazine. I had Mubin call them up to get some details, but it turned out they weren’t doing it anymore. We found another place that would cook and deliver a turkey for us. This would have been perfect, except for the fact that it would cost RMB 800 ($130). We actually were going to do this, since split between eleven people it would only be about $15, but then we found out that the turkey was only eight pounds. Now if it had been a nice 20 pounder, we totally would have done it, but eight pounds? We scratched that plan, and now we’re going to get a few family size buckets from KFC. Chicken is a good enough substitute I think. We can still make mashed potatoes and corn, and we’ll have grilled cheese sandwiches and rice crispy bars too. It’s a hodgepodge of foods, but I’m really excited about this dinner!

On Sunday, we went to the silk market in Hangzhou. This place is amazing! Two whole city blocks full of stores selling silk scarves, ties, dresses, pajamas, and any other silk product. I plan on blowing the last of my budgeted money here. I think I have a new love for scarves, or an addiction, because I’m planning on buying a lot more there. Carey and I went to Grandma’s Kitchen for dinner, and we decided to go there at least once a week from now until we leave because it is the best restaurant, and we need to get ready to say goodbye to its delicious food. We also are going to eat street food at night as much as possible. It makes me sad, all these things that will have to be “the last.”

Today at my internship, I got sent out on the street to “search for white faces” (my editor’s words). For each month in the magazine there is a section called “Your Say” where they ask three random people a question having to do with the magazine’s theme. Previous questions have been “What has been your biggest adventure in Hangzhou?” and “What is one thing you can’t live without in China?” As this is for the December issue, the question was “What would be your ideal Christmas gift?” I was not very excited about walking up to complete strangers and asking them for their answer and a picture, but I went with it. Lee told me where a Starbucks and a Subway was—I was bound to find an English speaker there. I found the Subway easily enough, but figured Starbucks would be easier since it was after lunch. I had to walk down the whole street then turn around and walk back on the other side before I found it. Thankfully it was a beautiful day. (I can’t get used to this weather. One day it’s freezing and raining, the next day it’s sunny and warm. And this morning I went from needing my winter coat to sweating in just my long sleeve T-shirt.)

But back to my assignment. I went into Starbucks, and all I saw were Chinese. I had to go upstairs and look in a corner before I saw a white guy. I was extremely nervous but I gave my pitch and he was willing to contribute. His Chinese friend also did one. Two down, one to go. I went back downstairs and another white guy was standing in line. I asked him, but he didn’t want to do it, so I left Starbucks and headed to Subway. I had to get a pop, sit down and wait for fifteen minutes before a candidate walked in. I found out that this guy had been in Hangzhou since June and was working for a company that helps place Chinese students at American universities. I wish I had asked him what the company was called or for more information about it because this job sounds really interesting! I’ll have to research this area of work for some future job possibilities.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Wedding carsWedding cars
Wedding cars

Cars are decorated with flowers for weddings instead of tying cans to the back


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb