At sea


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hainan
August 1st 2013
Published: June 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 19.8287, 112.709

Getting back to the guava we bought in Hong Kong... I unintentionally left it in the plastic sack overnight, but when I took it out it was much softer than the day before. Using a dinner knife that I brought up from the ship's restaurant, I cut into it to find a creamy-white center with a few small seeds. I wasn't ready to try eating the skin, although it is edible; it is just too green and bumpy. But we did eat the insides including the seed. Having a little crunchiness like the texture of a firm pear and a subtle sweet flavor, we found it pretty good. I don't remember ever having a fresh guava before, just the canned nectar available stateside.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb