some more pics


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guizhou » Guiyang
August 31st 2007
Published: August 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post


Hi everyone, I hope you are all doing well. (this is Brigid by the way)
Anyhow just quick note to say what we have been up to.
We are teaching 5 days a week about 15hr to 18hr all different ages and levels. Teaching is fun and I am getting used to it. The school is ok but the investor can be a very tight pocketed. As a result the resources are not great and the Chinese staff get paid fuck all. This is a shame because everyone works hard but I suppose from what I have seen business in china is about making money with out a thought for the people involved. I would have thought quality would be more important. However saying this all the people I work with are lovely and David the DOS try’s really hard to keep things running smoothly however much the investor peter messes his staff around.
Our Chinese is coming on very slowly we know very basic vocab but not much more. However we get by considering very few people speak English in Guiyang.
Guiyang is an interesting city I am loving living here. The people are very friendly and generally fare (I have only had one taxi driver try to rip me of). The night clubs in Guiyang a pretty bad but there is plenty of nice places to hang out. The city is surrounded by hills made out of limestone and covered in tropical plants. There are many parks around Guiyang (not to mention the biggest waterfall in Asia). There is so much to see and unfortunately me and Bob have both been ill so we have not seen as much as we would have liked. However both of us are a lot better so watch this space. Oh yak I got stuck on what claimed to be the highest flying fox in the world it was very funny (once I was of the flying fox that is)
Anyway most importantly more pics waterfalls caves and so on and so on...



Additional photos below
Photos: 135, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



1st September 2007

Hot pot
(Bob says), So you get this big pot of bubbling stock/soup, then you get loads of little plates of stuff (kinda random, our Chinese sucks and B is veggie). Tofu, mushies, veg, things (?), all gets chucked in, then fished out and scranned. I like the red one best, two types, hot as hell and hot and sour. Good dren. Wholesomenessness, mmmm!!

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb