A Londoner in Yangshuo


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
October 28th 2012
Published: October 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

YangshuoYangshuoYangshuo

The view from my bedroom window at the hostel.
After arriving at Guilin airport at 22:15 I was met by a cheerful member of the Buckland team who proceeded to take my luggage and led me to a small people carrier. After a rather long journey through Guilin city and then onto the high way I arrived safe and absolutely knackered at the hostel where I am to stay for at least the next week. The hostel appeared closed for the night which is not unlikely considering it was 01:00 in the morning by this point. The poor owner had most likely ben dragged from his bed to lead me to my room and explain the various facilities. The room it’s self is very nice and consists of an en-suite bathroom in the Chinese style (read shower room and toilet in one). Having been told to allow myself to wake naturally and that a member of the Buckland team would come and meet me to show me around I was left to take a shower and go to bed.

Following a night of tossing and turning I was greeted the next day by Kelly who was to be my tour guide for the day. She took me around the
YangshuoYangshuoYangshuo

The view of the road that the hostel was on.
town of Yangshuo which I was informed is a small town… not by British standards. It was more like the size of the city of Aberdeen than any of the towns I know of in Britain. The town is array of shops and stalls of brightly lit and boasting various colourful wares of all types. Kelly took me to a rice noodle bar where I was able to try some authentic Chinese cuisine which consisted of pork, beef and rice noodles. It was different from Western food but delicious just the same. Then we proceeded to browse the shops in search of a hand bag as I was unable to fit one in my own luggage. With Kelly by my side I was able to buy a handbag marked at 385 Yuan for just 120 Yuan. As Kelly explained to me there are three prices: local prices, tourist prices (Yangshuo is a major tourist destination with in china itself) and foreigner prices. No need to guess which price I would have been asked for is I had been alone.

With my new bag in tow we carried on through the town and walked through the town park where I
YangshuoYangshuoYangshuo

The view at night.
was told that earlier in the day the elderly gather to do Tai Chi together. We then both retired for an afternoon nap with Kelly promising to give me a knock to take me out again for dinner. At just gone six Kelly gave me a knock and we set off again feeling well rested having had our afternoon kips. Kelly took me for some hotpot which consisted of cooked vegetables on a bed of rice. I enjoyed this more than I did the rice noodles and to say it may become one of my favourite Chinese dishes. So my first day in China comes to an end. I am to go into the Buckland offices tomorrow to sort out my paper work and find out what will happen for the rest of my time in Yangshuo. I have to say I would enjoy it greatly if Kelly could be my FAO where ever I end up though sadly I doubt this will be the case.

Advertisement



28th October 2012

25 Hours in a day
Cold and grey in downtown Sutton. Glad all is well and look forward to future updates. Who have you invited to your blog so far? M & D
29th October 2012

I wish there was 25 hrs...
So far just you and no one else. It's raining here too and has been all day since last night without a break. XXX
29th October 2012

Cannot see any private blog entries
Do we appear on your list of invitees? If not send invite to us gain, I have followed a FAQ that says there can be a glitz, that may be overcome if you do this? worth a try eh! Dad
30th October 2012

Re sent invite
I've resent the invite so you just need to accept and then you should be able to read the private blogs.
30th October 2012

Private Blogs and Sim cards
We can now see the comments on the control panel page and you appear on the private invitees page as we accepted your invite. But no further blogs are visable! If you have not done any then all is well. Please transfer all your address book to your phone from the Sim. Once you confirm this we can activate the new Sim and it will then deactivate the Sim in your phone. a back up on your PC may be a good idea, if you can do so with the leads you have. Love M & D

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb