So Much to Do


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
July 16th 2008
Published: April 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yangshuo was much anticipated and well worth the travel. We flew to Guilin and then took a bus to Yangshuo. There were so many options and activities for us to do... hot air ballooning, mountain biking, hiking, bamboo river rafting, kayaking, caving, etc. I wanted to do it all. We started off with a little walk into town which was again...very picturesque with so much to see. We rented some bikes and headed over to Moon Hill, where we hiked to the top. Some ladies who were trying to make a buck walked us all the way to the top, all the way fanning us and offering water. It was a little annoying at first, but then I was appreciative and decided I was glad that wasn't my job!

Then we took a river boat cruise down the Li River....seeing lots of scenery that was so different than anything I had ever seen. The Karst landscape was amazing. That night we boarded a boat and watched them do Cormorant Fishing. They have these birds on leashes, thrown them in the water, the birds eat the fish, then the fisherman grab them by their throat and they cough up the goods. Interesting, to say the least.

The next day Michael and I decided to Kayak down the river. The first hour and a half was pretty awesome...except we had a major down pour. For a moment I thought I wished I wasn't there, but then I realized that being in China, on that river, was unlike anything most people see. Putting that in perspective gave me a little umph and I started paddling away. Right as I was finishing up, the guy yelled, "No, not here, you have another 1 1/2 hours to go!!". Oh geez. My arms had needles of pain in them. When we finally got back, I finished the day doing a little bit of shopping with Nic.

On our last day Nic, Liz, and I got up at 4:30am to catch our ride out to the hot air balloon. We had a lovely 1 hour float (something I always wanted to do). The landing was pretty funny....they couldn't get the balloon to touch down and the poor crew below looked like little elves running around like crazy.

Off to Hong Kong!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Mountain BikingMountain Biking
Mountain Biking

We biked to Moon Hill, then climbed to the top.
KayakKayak
Kayak

3 hours of pure hell on my arms!
Moon HillMoon Hill
Moon Hill

We hiked to the top..it was soooo humid.
KarstsKarsts
Karsts

The uniquely shaped karsts
CIMG3775CIMG3775
CIMG3775

Michael was the only one who did Kayaking with me. We were both regretting it!! Well, it was nice until the last 1 1/2 hours!


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb