Day 3 -


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin » Daxu
July 23rd 2013
Published: July 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 - leaving Hong Kong for Yangshuo
The leaving journey was a shock! The backpack was a killer: far too heavy! Three underground train journeys, then an overground train which took about 2 hours later, we were all struggling. We crossed the China border which was all a bit surreal on foot. The rep was stuck in traffic, so we were hanging in the unknown for a while, we were unsure if the overnight bus would wait for us, but again, it all worked out in the end.



Finally, the rep arrived and 5 taxis took us to the waiting, and very much delayed, overnight bus. We boarded the bus and took our bed for the night. I was pleasantly surprised with the overnight stint. It gave me a chance to catch up on the jet lag. It wasn't an eventful bus ride, a bit rocky at times. I found myself shunting up and down my bed, but overall a good nights sleep. I was very pleased with myself for preparing well for this part. I had a Subway sandwich, crisps, biscuits, fruit and water. The menu served me well over the journey!



The arrival in Yangshuo at about 8.30. was a very pleasant surprise. It was buzzy and busy! We arrived at Monkey Jaynes, and I was so pleased to get the backpack off my back! am sharing a room with Laura, Louisa and Zoe. We had a sort out of baggage before going for a walk round.....so far so good.



We set off in the afternoon on our bikes for the bamboo rafting on the Yulong River. We cycled for about half an hour. It was a really pleasant ride, not too demanding in the heat of the day. The bamboo rafts were amazing. Obviously they float, as they are made of bamboo, but they didn't look like they would... Lol.



We then had a return ride, this time on the main roads. Quite a sight, 18 of us, majority pale skinned Europeans, riding in single file. It felt like déjà vue from Vietnam! Really enjoyed it all. Now to get showered and sorted before going to see the Cormorant fishing. Sally the rep here has been really helpful!



Tonight we went to watch the cormorant fishing, it was quite surprising how they do it. I did attempt some photos, but due to the light on the bamboo raft, they didn't work out! The cormorant are in the water catching fish, but they have something tied around their throat so they can't actually swallow the fish. When they catch one, the fisherman hooks it out and empties the fish into his catch! I would have thought it is a bit frustrating for the bird, but to be fair, it kept going back fore more! On our return, we went to eat. Not a bad eal, but their serving order leaves a bit to be desired!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



23rd July 2013

looks amazing
awww its looks so nice and like ur having so much fun! I don't agree with the birds having their throats tied to catch the fish tho!! :( hows the food ??? xxxx subway??? crisps & biscuits?? hhhmmmm not exactly trying the local cuisine - waiting for the next food update xxxx
25th July 2013

Hi Ella
Hi Ella, I really appreciate your comments. There is no Facebook here, so it's good to read messages from home! I am loving it. I must admit, I'm not killing myself, as I may have done in the past, but loving it anyway! The crowd are a real mixed group, all ok. I am eating any foods that pass my way, but that seems quite natural these days... Lol. had beer fish stuff last night. Not much yoga being done, I managed about 10 mins on my balcony this morning! But it is only about two feet wide! Got you some purple yoga pants! Keep commenting!
23rd July 2013
image

looks like ur about to sink
xxxx
24th July 2013

Hello
Glad to hear you enjoyed the peak in HK - and made it to China safe! Sammy has updated G and G n your blog and I popping up on Friday so will take my iPad to keep them updated!! I know grandma likes to know what\'s going on! I\'ve been ringing them most days to keep them up to date! Look forward to reading your next instalment - and what they give you to eat!? Remember you've got to try everything once!! Ha ha rather you than me in china!!! Enjoy yourself love you x x

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb