Another week, time flies...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Zhuhai
June 1st 2014
Published: June 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Another week has gone by, it turns out that those bites on my legs were not actually regular bug bites but rather bites from bedbugs. Bedbug bites generally do not react the way that they did on me, but as it turns out, I am actually allergic to bedbugs. My language partner took me to the clinic on campus to get my bites checked out which is when I found out about my allergy, the doctor gave me some cream to calm down the allergy, but he said if it didn't work by the morning that I would need to go to the hospital in the city instead of just the clinic. Luckily after moving to two different rooms, freezing my clothes and spraying my luggage with pesticides I seem to have gotten rid of all of the bedbugs, since I have been in my new room for a number of days with no new bites and my legs have healed up very quickly. However this new room does seem to have some cockroaches, at least one, but I got rid of it pretty quick and they are easier to spot and get rid of than bedbugs are so I prefer them!

My language partner has a sister who is going to Dalhousie in the fall and I hope that I will be able to help her out a bit at getting accustomed to Canada since Estella my language partner has been such a great help to me here! She is even considering moving to Canada to go to graduate school, she is thinking about BC or Ontario but I would hope she would come to visit her sister while she was in Canada and then maybe I could show her around a bit to!

This week the students had their midterm exam and the Chinese students delivered their oral presentations in class. Classes were a bit mixed up on Friday, the students only had a morning class and then had an academic trip to see how the oil industry works in China. When we got back we decided to go to the western restaurant on campus since we were all missing western food a bit, two of us ordered steak but it was pretty gross, I don't know why exactly but the texture and taste were both wrong, the french fries were pretty good though and the ice cream was pretty.

On Saturday they had the class they are supposed to have Friday afternoon then in the evening we went to dinner with the executive at the same restaurant as last year, it was a great time. The food was a little odd though, I didn't enjoy it as much as last year, this year included turtle soup, shrimp and a lot more seafood. We drank rice wine this time instead of beer and the executive wanted us all to sing songs again. On the way home we all sang on the bus home and then afterwords we went up on the roof and enjoyed the view of campus at night.

One of our students is pretty sick so tonight myself and another student went out and got a get well soon card (well I hope its something like that I can't exactly read it) and went around to get everyone to sign it. I hope that soon we will be able to give it to her, but maybe we will need to wait until she is feeling a bit better first. Tomorrow is Dragon Boat festival and I feel bad about her missing it because it was probably my favorite of the academic trips last year. I look forward to seeing it again tomorrow!

Tomorrow is the beginning of a new week with lots planned, probably going to be one of the busiest weeks yet! Also a Hong Kong trip on the weekend and I will also be able to see Macau this year which is exciting!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb