Zhuhia and TEFL International


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Zhuhai
August 1st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm leaving Zhuhai for Shenzhen today. I'm aware that I never made a post mentioning that I'd arrived here, but trust that I did a so a month ago, and have been here since. The city is very nice. The streets are lined with palm trees, and the climate is very tropical. I did only a little sight-seeing, because of the demands of the course I was taking. At one point my friends Will and Brian from Wuhan came to visit me, and we took a trip to the beach to see the fisher girl statue, which is the local symbole. Alas, there was a mansoon soon after we arrived, and the wind broke my umbrella. It was fun nonetheless. I'm right near the Macua border, but somehow I didn't make it to Macua. I do plan on going before the summer is through.


The course itself was less difficult than I'd expected. It kept me busy, but it wasn't really hard. I did get to brush up on my grammar, learn phonology for the first time ever, and generally pick up some new games and tricks. The teaching practice during the course was on all different levels, from six year old kids, to adult hotel receptionists, and even the dreaded middle school age group. I always thought I wouldn't like working with middle schoolers, but the middle school students they brought in for us to practice on were actually my favorite group. They were just very sweet, and eager to learn. It was nice.

So, now I'm all certified, and have a nice reference letter as well. It looks like I can now start the vacation portion of my vacation!

I'd best leave now, and catch my ferry.

Advertisement



2nd August 2009

Hi Shannon!!!! Glad to hear you are doing well and enjoying your time in the far east......Miss ya'.....Bruce, Betty, and Carole
3rd August 2009

Sounds like it's been a profitable trip, then. :) Phonology FTW!
23rd March 2010

where did you do your course?
Hi - I am from the UK looking to do a TEFL course in China. Any tips? Jemma

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb