Safari Park Shenzhen


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
February 1st 2017
Published: July 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

My incredible luck once more came into effect as I went to visit an area called “Xili Lake”. It is one of the new metro stations created in Shenzhen and I was thinking a nice park could be found there. Instead of a lake with a lakeside park or beach, I found Safari Park Shenzhen. I relished the chance of seeing another wonderful safari park after the great experience I had in Guangzhou (Chimelong Safari) but wasn’t prepared for this slightly smaller place. I will note that with the bright colours and cartoonish statues within the place, the Safari Park Shenzhen is geared for children but still enjoyable for adults (or children of all ages). Once more, I will not list the many animals present in this safari park since you can see all of them in the wonderful photos I’ve added to this article.



A good variety of animals are present including small shows and even animal rides. Like in Chimelong, they have a train ride through a free zone for people to get closer to the animals but overall much less direct contact with the animals. This does make taking some photos much harder but still gives a good visibility vantage for the caged beasts. The lesser size and smaller space per animal was a little discouraging for me. It made for a quicker walk to see everything but was still hard on the heart of this animal lover. It was a good day of discovery as I saw and noted many differences (both big and small) between the two major animal parks I had visited.





The space giving you a good view was much smaller and the animals themselves were much farther away from you when in the more open area. This spacing could be simply used to protect the visitors and animals alike but made for lesser quality photos. The pathways were spacious or appeared that way because of the smaller crowd I found here. It was also more built within the city unlike Chimelong’s area that stretched out from the edge of the city. Less stopping places and/or convenience area were found within this safari park. The overall park was still very beautiful and the animals appeared healthy but as for them being happy there, I could not feel that emotions present here. It is a great place to visit but it’s not a place I would want to make a return visit to. Once seen, it is enough for me. I left knowing I’d found a new dull gem in the touristic market offered in Shenzhen. It also made me know that I would find much better places to explore in this city


Additional photos below
Photos: 415, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb