A Visit to Generalissimo’s Manor


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
February 1st 2017
Published: July 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

This was one of the many return trips I took to Guangzhou helping a friend and returning to my Adventurous self. I spent nearly half my first month in Guangzhou and the rest in Shenzhen upon my return to here. A new view and location in Shenzhen was found including a small but quaint apartment close to the Shenzhen North Rail and Metro Station. This freedom didn’t help me much as I felt too much like I was “nesting” here in Shenzhen instead of hunting down the wonders. I was still taking my normal exploratory walks around my new area but it was more to search for needed items instead of finding hidden gems. My return trips to Guangzhou helped me remember the feeling of being an adventurer once more. This feeling lead me to explore the opposite side of the Pearl River which I had not reached during my initial stay in Guangzhou.

My luck held true to form as I discovered what I thought was another park or square of Guangzhou. It turned out to be the front yard of General Sun Yat-sen’s mansion and command centre (now a fully active museum). It was not one of the places that I had left on my shortlist for Guangzhou but a wonderful bonus discovery for me. Walking up the one side path of the greened edges of the square lead me to the main gates of the manor’s yard. I was still unsure what I had stumbled upon until I spoke to the person at the service desk. It was a like a spark in my mind as I realized what I had before me. The two simple looking three storey buildings wasn’t exactly impressive from the outside even with the bamboo styled eaves. The security scan for both bags and person was a little worrisome but not that strange to me after visiting other museums.



Brief Historical Notes:



The founder of what is seen as China's first step towards it's modern state, General Sun Yat-sen is an iconic figure whose mansion in Guangzhou was refurbished and houses a museum of his team’s accomplishments. Other than bringing peace to China at the end of World War II, he assigned wise people to help begin the revamping of the city and government that would work for the people. It also opened the door to foreigners to starting trading and architects to help build a new Guangzhou. He ushered China forward into the new global age without destroying the core traditions and beliefs of the Chinese people. Walking into his mansion is taking a step back in time to where and when a nation was rebuilt.



The Mansion and Command Center:



Once you step onto the first floor landing, you realize quickly that this place might be small but they used every drop of surface space to the fullest. The posts that surround each floor’s veranda hold pictures with explanation (both in Chinese and in English), and painting done by people remembering Sun Yat-sen. Include with this a variety of exhibitions about the time period when the General lead China forward. More information about both Shamian Street and the foreign architect behind it’s construction (and much of Guangzhou) can also be found here. But, the best was still left to come as you entered the secondary building which was the residence of the Generalissimo and his command center.

Using wax figurines of the key people that would be present in this fully restored mansion, they allow the public to step back in time. All the original furniture (or very identical recreations) let you see how they lived and what they would touch and use in those turbulent days of recreating a nation after internal and external strife had nearly torn it apart at the seams. It was a wonderful day of adventuring and rekindling my passion for “getting lost on purpose”. I returned to Shenzhen after this short visit to Guangzhou with a new attitude and renewed vigor. I will see all of you soon as my next venture into the wonders of China begins again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 624, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb