Iiiiiiiii'mmmm Baaaaaaack!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
January 31st 2016
Published: January 31st 2016
Edit Blog Post

New Year’s Resolution



I usually don’t make resolutions. My last real resolution I made was in 2008. On January 1, 2008 I vowed to myself to quit my job, move to another country, and have some adventures. That year in August I moved to China. It was such a big and successful resolution that I figured I could never top it and stopped making them at the New Year. But this year I’ll make a small one: My new year’s resolution is to take up this blog again. I half-heartedly took it up when I returned to China in 2012. But it quickly fell to the wayside. It was another woman’s blog that brought me to China and helped me discover a life that makes me very happy. And I thought, “What if my blog helps someone else find their groove?” So, I will do my best to keep this blog updated, not only with my exciting travels but also with day to day life for expats in China.



I’ve now lived in China for a little more than five years. Many things that I used to notice as new or strange are mundane to me now. A few months ago a friend from the US was here on business and we were able to visit one evening. He said to me that as he looked around marveling at all the ‘newness’ it occurred to him that for me it was ‘just Thursday night.’ And it’s true. I often don’t notice what’s different here until I return to the US (where I now feel a bit like a foreigner).



For this blog, I will do my best to look around at the world with new eyes and try to find the strange, the wonderful, and the normal and share it with everyone here.

Advertisement



2nd February 2016

Welcome back!
I'm glad to see you're blogging again. I taught in Zhuhai from 2012-2013 and your blog was one of my main sources of information about life in China. (Especially the weirder aspects of life in China.) I'm guessing you haven't lost your sense of humor? :D
5th April 2016

Awesome!
That is so cool and really what I was hoping for when I kept the blog. I learned about life in China from someone else's blog on this site. I'm so happy that I was able to pass that kind of help along!

Tot: 0.336s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.2107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb