Trip to Shenzhen


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
December 2nd 2013
Published: December 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

OK, here is my travel report.

From Munich I was flying to Abu Dhabi.

Abu Dhabi is a terrible airport. Bad signage, too many people, expensive. The line to transit security check was about 250m long. Clerks all shouting, no matter if you are a real believer or as atheist as I am. 250 seems to be the magic number there. Because it was the distance from the gate to the toilet (at least when you don’t read Arabian) and 250/10 was the number of people waiting to get inside the toilet. So if you are changing planes there, calculate one extra hour…

Etihad is an average airline. I don’t see why they should have won “best airline” the last 5 years. They are not better or worse than Lufthansa and in no way can they match Emirates. Well, the food was good.

When I arrived at Bangkok airport, my world was changing once again. I don’t know why Thai people are as they are but I love it. So friendly and honest. Well, step by step.

After passing passport and customs, I found the luggage storage on floor 2. Guess what my bicycle costs per day? 2,20 EUR… . Guess what my sleeping bag would have cost per day? 2,20. :D

So I opened the bicycle and stuffed the sleeping bag and matrass inside the carton. Still 100 Baht. Talking about bicycle: I was really afraid that I would have to cancel the biking completely since on Thursday I developed something every man is afraid of: hemorrhoid. So how would you ride with that? Not at all I think. Lucky me, the doctor said that it was only a little thing, no hemorrhoid and I could do whatever I wanted. I had already thought that my series of bad luck before china trips would continue ( maybe you remember my broken nose 1 day before my last trip). Series stopped.

So after the storage, I was looking for food. Prices on level 3 of BKK are expensive. So I went to the food plaza on the ground level. For only 100 Baht I got a terrific soup with intestines and duck, another dish with rice and 2 bottles of water. YES! What a money saver. About 1/6 of the price on level 3. I had to leave my luggage outside the food plaza. Would you leave your backpack outside a door on any airport? I guess no. In Thailand you can.

So after the food I got myself a Thai SIM card for internet, checked my mails and went to sleep for 30 mins on some bench. I never sleep in the plane because I am too tall and my head is above the seat.



After 6 more hours of waiting, I could finally check-in and board the plane to Hongkong.



Hongkong airways – can’t recommend them. For many little details. So then I arrived in Hongkong and since I am pretty used to the procedure, I took a mini bus and crossed the border to Shenzhen and went directly to my living place for this week. Now that is a different story…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb