What I'll Miss the Most


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
June 16th 2010
Published: June 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

All ready to go!All ready to go!All ready to go!

Hard to believe this belongs to a woman who arrived with just one backpack and a lap top bag... don't worry, the chair and the water cooler are staying here.
I know a lot of people ask what I'll miss the most about China. Well, I haven't actually left yet, so that's hard to say. I don't miss things I know I can come back to. So last year, I didn't make that 'What I'll Miss About China" list because I knew I'd be back in a month. But now, my time in Shenzhen has come to a close. I can now make a list of the things I'll miss most about this city.

In no particular order:
1. My Students. They may drive me crazy, but they were a huge part of my life. And college students won't be middle school students, not by a long shot. After two years teaching the same kids, they grow on you. In some cases like mold, but in most cases it's in a good way.

2. Roy, Anthony, and Iris. Without their support I could have never done this job. They helped shape my experience in China and helped me get my feet wet. I am forever indebted to them.

3. My friends. I know this is a gimme, but I'm leaving them, most of them are leaving the country.
Ready to fly!Ready to fly!Ready to fly!

I had to get my nails done one last time.
As I said before, we've experienced things and moments and feelings that can be hard to put into words. We supported each other through it all.

4. My Muslim noodle shop. I've been eating there for two years, every week. They know me, they know my order, they're always happy to see me, even if they spot me on the street. They look out for Roy and I and always make us feel welcome. And full. All noodle shops have different noodles, and none is as good as theirs--theirs are a bit more al dente, which is they way I like my pasta!

5. My amazing proximity to easy shopping and cheap sushi. I live across the street from a Jusco and a Carrefour, both with large delis. The Jusco deli not only has fried noodles that I get quite often, but they have a amazing sushi counter. Full sushi meals for 4USD or less, even cheaper if it's after 7pm and they're trying to sell it all. I do love sushi and will miss the ease with which I can get it now!

6. My proximity to Hong Kong. I realize that's not really about Shenzhen, but I will miss being able to cross the border to great non-Asian food and shoes that fit me with such ease. And sales people that speak English.


I know, that's it, right? Well, really, Guangzhou is a lot like Shenzhen. Same part of the country, an even larger city. The fact that the only things on my list are people, sushi, and Hong Kong says something. It says it's time to move.

Onward!


Advertisement



16th June 2010

+1
Loved the nails!!

Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb