Homecoming July 09


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
April 20th 2009
Published: April 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello loves!!

News: I didn't get one of the three CTLC Associate Coordinator jobs like I had hoped; however, they offered me a compromise. Over 1000 people applied to be in CTLC next year, so they think we'll be up to full capacity (which barely ever happens-- people don't get on the plane, they don't make it through training, or they freak out after seeing chicken feet for the first time and hop on a plane during their first few weeks.) SO, the head of our program offered me a position coordinating the month long training session for the new teachers at Beijing University. It would give me the opportunity to do TEFL trainings, model lessons, help the three other coordinators place teachers in their schools, help with cultural and emotional adjustments to China, see all the cool stuff in Beijing again for free when it's not zero degrees outside, and get to know all the new people. If all 130 new teachers make it through training and sign their contracts with the Shenzhen Education Bureau at the end of August, then they'll make me a fourth full time coordinator! If a bunch of people drop out then I'll just go back to being a regular teacher like I was this year, but I'll probably be able to negotiate some perks.

What this means for my friends at home: I arrive home July 2 but have to leave again by August 3. Limited time only folks.

MTown kids-- July 4th bbq at my house for my mom's birthday! Come hang out, catch up, bring/eat bomb food, bring/drink beer, and watch the fireworks just like old times.

After that, July 5 - 11, I'm going to the White Mountains in New Hampshire with my family. Anyone is welcome to come meet us up there for hiking etc if you want. VT/NH people come meet up?

July 11: WILCO CONCERT!! Lowell, Mass.

July 12 - August 2: I plan on getting to at least Boston and DC/VA to visit. I'm not working so I can come visit whenever is best for you guys. Let me know what your schedules are like because I want to squeeze in as much time with you all as possible.

I love you guys!
我爱你们

See you SOON!

-Megan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb