Top Ten


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
December 9th 2008
Published: December 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

In honor of the end of the year, there have been many publications of “Top Ten” lists. These lists, such as the “Top Ten Fiction Books of 2008” have inspired me to publish two top ten lists of my own. What follows are my ten least favorite things in China, and then my ten favorite things in China. Brian will be posting his top ten as well.

Least Favorite Things About China

1. My students
2. Breakfast (oil and grease at 7am does not appeal to me)
3. Bad wine
4. The smell that comes through the window most mornings
5. “Nowism”
6. Bones in my meat
7. The overuse/ misuse of the word “maybe”
8. Chinese internet censorship
9. Being stared at/ having my photo taken just because I am a Westerner
10. Border crossing (which you must do to get to/ from Hong Kong, and at which I am always stopped for apparently not looking like my passport photo that was taken in April and looks just like me.)

Favorite Things About China

1. My students
2. Our neighborhood
3. The music school
4. 3 kuai dumplings on the street by our apartment
5. Beautiful, cheap, but always seasonal, produce
6. Public transportation (I do not miss driving one bit!)
7. Getting my hair washed
8. My wonderful new friends- both Western and Chinese
9. Long vacations with the opportunity to travel (we have a month off coming up soon!)
10. A new appreciation and understanding of the difference between a “need” and a “want.” There is no distinction between the two in Chinese, both are “yao,” but the difference is much clearer to me here. I have not flat ironed my hair or used a clothes dryer or dishwasher in four months and I am okay with that. I do, however, miss Romeo Augustus and my family and friends back home dearly. My days are always brighter when you call or email! I also find myself on a continual quest for cheap cheese and good sandwiches…but that is another story…

Jessica


Advertisement



11th December 2008

Cheap cheese?!?
There's cheap cheese in China?!? Where?!? For the love of God, tell me where!!!! ;)
15th December 2008

I will let you know as soon as I find it!
27th December 2008

autoloan
I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often. Sharon http://www.autoloans101.info

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb