Kite Flying in Futian


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday, a group of us headed out to a park in Futian for some kite flying. You can buy a kite there or bring your own. I was originally going to get one, since I haven't flown a kite since I was 5, but then decided I didn't want to try bringing it home on public transportation. (I didn't realize that they give you a bag to put it in.) Not to mention, the park was really full and I had visions of hitting someone as I attempted to take flight. Or stay in the air. Ok, and admittedly, the kite I wanted, the koi fish, well, someone else in our group bought it before I could. And I just couldn't get excited about stripes.
So I stayed in our little picnic area with the 2 kinds of Oreos, fake pringles (Chinese BBQ flavor is weird), cashews, and very fermented, low-alcohol-content red wine. The rest of us watched and occasionally helped while 2 of us flew. Even the locals in the park will come running up to you and try to help. I guess as foreigners, we look like we need the help! Some people also took random pictures with all the different statues in the park. (There are a ton of them. It seemed as though there was one every 10 meters!)

We stayed for a few hours. I decided that I was going to go back today (Monday) and look around some more because the park is HUGE. There's even a tea house! But ominous-looking weather kept me closer to home. I didn't want to travel for almost an hour to get rained out.
I should have gone. Sunday had a 60% chance of rain and we got nothing. Today's percentage prediction was lower, but it just looked more rainy. And today it was finally cool--it got down to 75. Ahhh.

After kite flying, we grabbed dinner and discussed election night plans. Most of us in the group have voted for Obama. We decided that we want a party with just the Obama people. It's nothing against the few Republicans in our group--they're lovely people who are a lot of fun. But this way, if we win, there's no one there looking less than pleased; or vice versa, if McCain does pull this off, who wants one giddy individual around while the rest of us are cying into our beer?
I can't believe the polls open... well, today by my clock!

We detoured to DQ enroute back to the metro. I have never been so happy to see a DQ in all my life. Dipped cones, blizzards, frosties.... oh, oh, oh!




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Help was enlistedHelp was enlisted
Help was enlisted

Yep, even the locals helped us.
Everyone liked sitting with this statueEveryone liked sitting with this statue
Everyone liked sitting with this statue

Later on, I saw a kid petting the guy's beard.
Biggest reel everBiggest reel ever
Biggest reel ever

I thought it looked like a ferris wheel.
A MN mecca.  An Oasis.A MN mecca.  An Oasis.
A MN mecca. An Oasis.

Dipped cone or Blizzard?


Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb