Arrival


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Shenzhen
June 21st 2005
Published: June 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

BookstoreBookstoreBookstore

This is the huge bookstore.. Clue to the chinese way: the half of the "kids" section consisted of books like "Primary Level Mathematics Olympics Study Guide" and "Tips for Entering the National Maths Contest" -i bought a comic on Confucious' "Analects", hehe
Well, Here I am in Shenzhen, after a beautiful flight across Russia (yay JON!)
I love how the clouds look from above, it's so pure and full of promise.
Shenzhen is a huge metropolis, littered with futuristic skyscrapers -watching all that japanese anime, I sometimes forget that there are cities such as Shenzhen which are actually pretty close to what's depicted on screen.
And the lychees here are the size of golf balls!

First mountain: Lian Hua Shan

Not much of a peak, hence a perfect warm-up.
It's right in the centre of the city, how come the UK doesn't get any mountains as city parks?!
Beautiful, just what i've been dreaming of, steps cut out of rock, and and lush foliage everywhere.

The view was an incredible cityscape, therefore a different kind of inspiring.

Check out the first few pics!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Stock ExchangeStock Exchange
Stock Exchange

Next door to the Bookstore, is the Stock Exchange. Many of Shanzhen's buildings are cool like this one,which is particularly cool, in a "Too Cool for Commoners" kinda way. Building on the right is shaped like a staicase, or (Beware, what you 'see' indicates your personality!) -a huge pixellated ice cream cone!
ShenzhenShenzhen
Shenzhen

Shenzhen's signature building, from the mountain peak, and also where my uncle works! The view is particularly sweet when you've sweated to get there -I can't wait to get to tougher mountains!
Deng XiaopingDeng Xiaoping
Deng Xiaoping

Also at the top of the mountain is a tribute to me. I mean, Deng Xiaoping, and chinese politician. hmm, I need one of those on a mountain of my own... maybe Dawei Mountain.
HistryHistry
Histry

China has a Histry of spelling English words wrong. I wonder what other funny signs I can find?
PantsPants
Pants

I rather like this one, I wonder if there is any subliminal messages going on?
Internet CafeInternet Cafe
Internet Cafe

Finally, this is the internet cafe i'm at right now. Snazzy huh? More internet cafes should serve pot noodles. And don't forget the blue neon lights!


21st June 2005

Hey Man
Hey D, just took a look at your pics, it looks good man. I'm very jealous but now that your absent I can take full advantage of this and take of England!
21st June 2005

ni hao
hey u, just wanted to say kewl blog...and hope the jurney is goin amaaazin!!! keep smylin! big hugs xx
21st June 2005

:)
Brilliant! I'm the first person to comment :). The eternal kitten spirit salutes thee, and eagerly expects fresh tidings. A blessing on thy blog! Must depart presently. Beware of chipmunks :). love, Frederique
21st June 2005

Do I have to put a title!?
Hey Dawei!! Haven't spoken to you in a while.. Sorry.. Hope you are well! And hope your having fun around China! It looks really awsome! That book store's massive! No wonder chinese people are so clever! Look at how much they read!! =P The view must be amazing from the top! I love the internet cafe!! It's the coolest thing I've ever seen~!!! I didn't know some internet cafes served pot noodles! Damn I need to get out more lol! Well, you better keep updating this with cool pics! =) Hope you have a really great time travelling! Take care! X
21st June 2005

Grrr... I just wrote a comment and explorer crashed!!!!! >.< - I guess I'll have to write it AGAIN!!!!!! grr.. lol
Hey Dawei!! Haven't spoken to in a while.. Sorry.. Hope you are well though! And hope you are having a good time in China so far! Woah! Look at the size of that bookstore! No wonder chinese poeple are so clever.. Look at how much they read! =P And the view from the top must be amazing!I have to say.. That internet cafe is awsome! It's officially the coolest internet cafe ever! I didn't know some internet cafes served pot noodles... Damn.. I need to get out more lol! Keep putting cool pics up and you better tell funny stories too! =P Well, I hope you have a great time while your in China! Take care! X
21st June 2005

WOW!
Wow Dawei the pics are just amazing! since going to Canada on my own, i have a real big urge to go travelling, and I have to say, China seems like a great place for travelling! Take care, and i will read everything you write over your spectacular journey! Andy.
21st June 2005

Yo man, glad to hear you're enjoying your travels and taking some time to give us some pictures. Keep up the good work!
21st June 2005

WOWOWOW!
Hey dawei... the pictures look amazing! i cant believe it! i love the internet cafes! that is it! iam going to china. have a great time. watch what u eat though! take it ezzzzzzzzz

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb