DongShanKou with My Former Student


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
June 1st 2013
Published: June 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I met one of the former Speech Team captains for lunch today. He graduated last spring and lives in the city, thus providing me with a perfect excuse to spend a day in the city. He asked me what I wanted to eat and I told him I wanted good local food. Sure, there's lots of Chinese restaurants here, but a good one with special food is something I have more difficulty finding. My student says the name of the restaurant is, "very Cantonese," which I thought was odd until he told me the name: Daughter-in-Law.

We arrived at 11am and were lucky enough to beat the rush. The staff were already setting red plastic stools outside for the upcoming line. We ordered a few dishes (by "we" I mean he did) and selected our tea. The food took a while, but it was well worth the wait. Each dish was better than the last, and was probably some of the best Cantonese food I've had. Great balance of delicate flavors in each dish. I think I actually ate more than he did!

After lunch we took a walk around the neighborhood. Dong Shan Kou is a great area with old buildings and history. My student likes exploring too, so we had fun wandering down little streets and discovering some of the buildings had signs explaining their significance! (Of course, they were in Chinese; luckily my translator was quite apt!) It's a great, friendly neighborhood, and you get a sense this is a place where people LIVE and have lived for years. It's not up and coming, it's not new and shiny; it's comfortable and familiar.

It was a great afternoon with lots of sunshine. A perfect China day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Dong Shan KouDong Shan Kou
Dong Shan Kou

love the windows
Where we ateWhere we ate
Where we ate

Dong Shan Kou
Dong Shan KouDong Shan Kou
Dong Shan Kou

I love the old and the new.
Dong Shan KouDong Shan Kou
Dong Shan Kou

Stairs to where?
A bit verbose?A bit verbose?
A bit verbose?

The Chinese are not known for their brevity with signs and titles.
Dong Shan KouDong Shan Kou
Dong Shan Kou

typical street signs


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb