Martyrs' Park


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
May 12th 2012
Published: May 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm trying to get out and city the city more when I take the free teachers' bus every other weekend. A lot of times my friends and I end up in the same places; often we're buying things we need, but a lot of it is just habit, I think.

This past weekend I had lunch with a friend who used to work at the university and then I took some time to check out Martyrs' Park. Located in the heart of the city, I walk by it often usually between stops at the DVD shop and the mall down the street. Since it's actually the name of the metro stop, I figured it must be an important park, and not just a neighborhood park.

I spent a little under an hour wandering around in the heat and humidity. It's a beautiful, peaceful space and a lovely tribute to those who died for the revolution.

I left sooner than I would have liked, but the humidity was atrocious. It rained earlier in the day and the air was still damp. Luckily, I think that thinned out the crowds, too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Classic shotClassic shot
Classic shot

Bridge, water, reflection
Annie, is that you?Annie, is that you?
Annie, is that you?

Who does CPR in a park?


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb