Thanksgiving...Japanese Style


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
November 29th 2010
Published: November 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

No. The answer is no. No, I didn’t get to stuff my face all day with Thanksgiving food, no I didn’t get to sit on my ass and watch football when I wasn’t stuffing myself with thanksgiving food, and no I didn’t get to play in a Turkey Bowl when I wasn’t watching football or stuffing my face with Thanksgiving food.

Did I miss Thanksgiving and being home with family? Yeah maybe a little.

But that did not stop me from having a great Thanksgiving weekend. I started Thanksgiving off by giving my kids a lesson on Thanksgiving and even though they probably had no clue what I was trying to teach them, they must of at least thought the pictures from the floats of the Macys Day Parade were cool (I hope). Whatever though, if I didn’t excite them, the pictures of stuffing, turkey, and pumpkin pie sure as hell excited me but then I realized I was in China and they don’t have any of that and they don’t even know what the holiday even is.

By pure coincidence, the closing ceremonies of the Asian Games fell on Thanksgiving Day so I had Friday off last week and was able to celebrate Thanksgiving with the bros even if it was not in the most traditional of ways. Instead of trying to look for a half-assed, knock off Turkey dinner we opted to spend our money on a nice all you can eat Japanese Hibachi Dinner. In short, it was pretty much a more authentic Benihanas. Oh, I forgot to mention that it was all you can eat and all you can drink!

We had gone there once before when we first got paid and decided to go back for Thanksgiving cuz it was that good. So wild for $30 bucks I was able to get sushi, steak, shrimp, squid, octopus, duck, dumplings, desert and all the Sake and Beer I could stomach. It was funny cuz when we walked in we are all civilized: hair combed, freshly shaven, shirts clean, all proper. You know acting like you would when you go to a nice restaurant but by the end of the night after all the food and maybe a little help from the booze, we were back to being loud and obnoxious. I don’t think the staff minded though cuz by the end of the night they were taking photos with us and we even had our taking shots, smokin cigs, and boozing with us.

After a bomb Thanksgiving-Japanese Dinner we went out to a local bar called the Tavern to meet our British friends. I caught myself saying Happy Thanksgiving to them and although they don’t celebrate it they were down to celebrate with us! Although it wasn’t my immediate family I was glad I have a Chinese family (well sort of) to spend the holidays with.

Shout out to my Mom, Dad, 3 brothers, and friends hope you guys had a wonderful thanksgiving, love you!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb