My Future Home


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
May 9th 2010
Published: May 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I left home in Shenzhen in search of a tiny, out of the way bus station. It took asking directions of 3 people to find it, tucked away behind... I don't know--I couldn't read the sign. I got my ticket and waited. I was already feeling a bit impatient, nervous, and excited. Leaving a bit later than I wanted to got me onto the 12:00 bus for what I assumed would be a 3 hour ride. I was heading up to Huadu, a northern district of Guangzhou. When my bus was late, and later, and finally arrive 30 minutes late I was starting to panic. I had people waiting for me that I wanted to make a good impression on!

The ride to Guangzhou was beautiful. Lots of trees, tunnels, mountains, more trees... I sat back and relaxed.

Guangzhou is the capital of Guangdong Province. Unlike Shenzhen's thirty years, it has a long history. Its population is a few million higher than Shenzhen's, but exact numbers vary. I've always said that Shenzhen was around 12-15 million, depending on the migrants. Guangzhou is touted as the third largest city in China, but I think they're only counting the city proper and not the surrounding areas, because Chongqing, Beijing, and Shanghai all have higher populations as a whole. Either way, it's big. And I'm going to be out on the edge of it, but still close enough for my liking.

Peizheng College is a private college with about 14000 students. I've been told there are at least 70 foreign teachers this year and they're expecting 80 next year. It's about 30 minutes outside of Huadu city, and I think about an hour or so outside of downtown Guangzhou. From Huadu I can take trains and buses to Hong Kong, Macau, and other parts of the country. Huadu has a small town feel to it but actually seems to have everything I'll need for day to day life. The ...village next to the college... that's another story.

I was met at the school gate by my student tour guide. He's a freshman with excellent English and part of an organization that helps the new teachers while giving students more practice with the English skills. He apologized for making me wait 2 minutes for him. And then promptly bought me some water and an ice cream bar. I could get used to this.

We walked over the foot bridge to the campus on the other side of the road. (The bus to Huadu drops people off across the street, on the side of the village.) From there we walked through the gate, along paths lined with flowering trees, and to the administration building to the Foreign Affairs Office. I met the woman in charge, chatted a bit, watched them talk about me, and we were on our way. My guide was carrying my backpack, which I appreciated. It wasn't heavy, but it was about 90 degrees and humid, so not having it rest on my back was wonderful. I had commented that he didn't need to help me, and it wasn't heavy, to which he replied, "It's okay, I am strong!"

We then toured the library, admiring the clocktower, walked by the gym and all its badminton courts, the table tennis tables, more table tennis tables, the huge pool, more table tennis tables, a few canteens, a little store, and ended with the Student Activities Center. The view from the top was quite impressive and I could see most of the campus. In every direction were dorms. 14000 students live in them, 4 to a room. All the dorm buildings were over 10 stories tall.

We then walked back over the bridge to the village. There are little shops for mobile phones, snacks, gifts, more gifts I don't want, and quite a few restaurants. Most of the shops only have 3 walls and the fourth seems to be one that is raised and lowered for the day. He pointed out the expat owned restaurant, the one and only real bar, and a few other places to eat. There were also numerous stands with fresh produce and a small grocery. Lastly he took me to his favorite place, the pool hall. We attempted to play a game but I haven't played in years and I did rather poorly. Oh well, I guess there's room for improvement this next year!

I then met up with the woman I'd been emailing with and we went back to her home on campus. She currently lives in a house (yes, an actual house) with another Australian. My understanding is that they're house-sitting for a couple who are off this term. The house was huge and had fantastic views of the lake. We gathered up some more people and went to dinner.

The restaurant was decorated for Xmas, and I've been told it's like that year-round. Luckily, it's not too over the top. I ordered some Japanese noodles and someone had curry and someone else had a salad. The food all smelled delicious. They introduced me to some other foreign teachers who were also dining there and they were quite gracious and welcoming.

Next we went to the Expat restaurant for a round of drinks. I could get Snow beer or... Snow beer. It was cozy and the menu looked pretty good if I'm ever craving pizza. The owner--who I was also introduced to--also carries real coffee, so I can still buy my beans for my morning fix!

Next down the road was the bar. As we walked there I could hear crickets and frogs. Yes, frogs. The bar was quite cozy and popular but, unlike most bars in China, the music wasn't too loud to have a conversation. They carry a nice selection of imported beers that are more to my liking. And the prices are lower than Shenzhen! We sat around, chatting, meeting more people, and towards the end the owner sent over a snack. We were a bit confused since we hadn't ordered anything. It was then explained that he sent it over to welcome the new teacher! I most certainly will be going back!

Some of my new friends offered to walk me back to my apartment at the end of the night. (The college gave me an apartment to stay in for my visit.) My tour guide, who had been with us the whole time, suddenly jumped up in a panic. He had been talking to a cute girl in another booth, but upon seeing us leave ran after us. He was very concerned and we assured him that I would be fine. He told me to call him the next day if I needed anything. I told him to get back in the bar and talk to the girl. He grinned and ran off.

I made it home just fine and snuggled into my bed. And then around 3am I woke up and couldn't sleep any more! I listened to birds welcoming the morning, I heard the tower bells ring at 7am and 8am, and then was tired enough to want to sleep. Too bad for me! It was time to get up and head over to my new friends' for breakfast!

On my way, another foreign teacher biked up to me to introduce himself. Ironically, I'd found his friend's blog about his visit to see this biker when I had done my googling. His friend had replied on Friday that Mr. Biker also was really enjoying working at the college and had been there for several years. Mr. Biker actually has a blog as well, which I have read a little of.

At my friends' house, we ate, chatted, and enjoyed the view of the lake. I had my first taste of Veggimite. It will be my last. I bid them farewell for now and enjoyed a walk across the campus. People in China get up early on weekends. Unlike my university days, this campus was busy in the morning!

I found the administration building with no trouble and went back to the FAO to sign my contract. I signed, controlling my excitement. Then we talked about days for getting my new residence permit, traveling, moving in, etc. It seems to be working out perfectly. She told me a bit more about how to get around the town and into the city. Every minute of this visit confirms again and again that I'm making the right decision!

Then it was time to head back to Shenzhen. I looked wistfully at the scenery before boarding the bus back to town, and then another back to Shenzhen. I'll be back soon.








Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

View over the campusView over the campus
View over the campus

I took this from the Student Activity Center
View over the campusView over the campus
View over the campus

I took this from the Student Activity Center
sign in the bus stationsign in the bus station
sign in the bus station

Not on campus, but in Guangzhou


11th May 2010

Impressive
Hi Kris, Your story is impressive, but not just the content. It is the way you write. I hope you continue to do this kind of writing. You are very good at it. I hope you enjoy your new work. Best,
12th May 2010

Next Year
Kris, I am so excited for you and have hope that soon we will be able to do the same thing. Congrats again on your upcoming teaching year.
12th May 2010

WOW
Certainly looks like a BEAUTIFUL location. So happy for your current success!
29th May 2010

the scenery is wonderful.i was in Guangdong in 2007,reading your blog,the times i had still calls up in my mind.

Tot: 0.351s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 87; dbt: 0.2617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb