Guangzhou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
May 28th 2007
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blue roofs in JapanBlue roofs in JapanBlue roofs in Japan

I see a few of these in China too.
My first full day touring turned out to be a half day; after that first morning of rain, the sun came out, so I went around the little island where my hotel in Guangzhou was, checking out the shops and talking to the girls inside. I read that there were many migrants from other parts of China here, and I saw them living around the waterfront on the other side of the island, even bathing in the water, and it's very murky water! Business/school days here are super crowded, kids on their way to school in their uniforms of high-waisted stretchy purple shorts or pants (elasticized at the ankle!), a white shirt and an ID around their necks. Very cute. Kids in the US would hate it! Then there was the small crowd of older women (1 or 2 men) doing ultra-low impact aerobics to Madonna, and then to traditional Chinese music with red scarves they waved to the music. After a few hours, it started to pour, I mean torrential rainfall, for hours! It's so humid here, even my map is moist! There are as many people walking around with umbrellas when it's sunny as there are when it's
JapanJapanJapan

Some very cool sushi!
raining. I had my Rosanne Rosanna-danna hair washed and blow-dried in the hotel for about $4.10 US. She did a good job; I wish I didn't bring a hair dryer now!

The next day I was determined to go into town, rain or shine. I brought my beach shoes, plus an umbrella & rain poncho. Quite the dork, but this is not a fashion-conscious place. One of the main shopping districts looked a lot like it would in Mexico, but the signs were all in Chinese. It's hard for me to find food, but I managed to find a food stall and bought skewered squid (delicious!) and corn on the cob for about $.75 US.
It turned out to be lightly seasoned, so I ate only one. When I got back to the little island where my hotel was, I had an acupuncture session for my vertigo at the 'Center for Chinese Medicine.' It hurts! Ideally, I'm supposed to have 3-5 treatments, but, unless I find another place in Beijing, I won't be able to. Now I'm ready for Beijing and the Great Wall.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

JapanJapan
Japan

Sea eel sushi being made. It's my favorite, and the specialty in this part of Japan, until I saw this guy preparing it...
Guangzhou, ChinaGuangzhou, China
Guangzhou, China

Even the mail men are on bikes.
Guangzhou, ChinaGuangzhou, China
Guangzhou, China

Roasted chicken anyone?


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb