Beijing, China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 2nd 2007
Published: June 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


BeijingBeijingBeijing

Probably the fastest way to get around the city

Untitled I arrived in Beijing on the 29th (I'm a day ahead of you all, but 8 hours behind); there's a ton of construction going on in preparation for the 2008 Olympics. I spent the first day walking the entire city, well not really, but it felt like it! Beijing is huge, so a few blocks on a map can take almost an hour to walk! I went to Tian'anmen Square, famous for the brutal killings, and the largest square in the world, and a couple of other sites, temples and towers. Beijing is one populated city! There are so many people on bicycles, but the driving is insane, I'd be scared to death! When someone honks their horn, it's not to avert an accident, it's to say, "Hey, I'm coming through!" Bicyclists have no fear, they go where they want, and cars stop for whoever's first, another car or bike, but not for pedestrians! They come last.

And the air pollution! Yikes! Half the cars are pretty old and spew dark fumes. Along with the humidity, smoke from cigarettes (mostly unfiltered-and a huge percentage of the population smokes), and the sand from the desert, my eyes stung every day!
BeijingBeijingBeijing

Tian'anmen Square - the cab drivers know it as "Tian'men."
There's a new campaign to prohibit smoking in public areas, but the Chinese are fighting. The tobacco companies aren't required to write large warning labels on the packs of cigarettes, but they are required to do it if they export them, to Australia, for example. They also claim that if China enforced such a ban, their economy would fall apart! And because of smoking, people, men and women, feel free to spit (and I mean from the lungs) on the street at anytime! It seems that healthwise, they're in the 50's, but social wise, maybe the 1800's. I won't miss the spitting 'preparation' sound when I leave China!

The trip to the Great Wall was about 120 km from the city, and was amazing! It rained all day, but we all just put on our plastic ponchos and climbed hundreds of steps. The views were great, despite the visability. We were actually in the clouds, and in some of the towers that are situated along the wall, you could see the clouds blow through the doorways and windows. I went on an organized tour, and met some nice people, from France, the US and England. Lunch was included; I
BeijingBeijingBeijing

Apparently, brushing you teeth in the street is OK. But, why not? Spitting is! This guy had toothpaste foam running down his face. I tried to bracket this photo with others of the area, so he didn't know the subject was him!
tasted a tiny bit of each dish...and paid dearly that night and the next day. I managed to leave the hotel (I had to!) to pick up my passport from the Vietnamese Embassy (for my entry visa) and then had my hair washed and blow dried again (I really didn't want to do it myself the way I felt) for a whopping $2.75 US. And, both times I had my hair done, they managed to make my hair nice and straight and swingy, with NO hair product! I have to figure this one out when I get home! Fast foward to today, and humidity destroyed my great hair!

I left Beijing this morning, for Shenzhen, a city just across the border from Hong Kong, where I'll go tomorrow. Shenzhen has an artsy/design type of atmosphere, so I'm looking forward to seeing it tomorrow. I'll update in Hong Kong, which is supposed to be beautiful!

Enjoy your weather everyone! It's been either raining, or extremely hot & humid every day.
Love you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

BeijingBeijing
Beijing

The Great Wall! The right side of the wall is Mongolia.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

The Chinese would shoot the Mongolians through these openings...
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

This is what I thought it would look like, actually walking on the wall.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

Sorry, another cool shot!
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

A local. They kind of latch onto you during the trek. My group split up: A couple went way ahead, a few behind, and I kept my own pace, so this guy accompanied me. He was pretty useful though. One, we could communicate, two, he helped me up & down the slippery spots, and he was a great tour guide. And all he wanted was for me to buy an expensive book! I asked if he had a t-shirt instead, and he did, and I had a husband to buy one for! So it all worked out.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

One of the more impressive towers, with the wall meandering in the background.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

Just an ordinary building.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

A typical intersection.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

The 'mall' near my hotel.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

The produce scale at the shop where I bought breakfast, lunch and dinner near my hotel.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

Most temples look a lot like this; monks live at this one though.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

These guys are everywhere. They're dressed to look like they're from the army, but they look like they're 14 years old! They're actually employed by a security company.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

Chinese cigarettes.
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

The babies wear these pants with an opeing in the crotch. It's much easier to sqat & pee this way!
BeijingBeijing
Beijing

Yuck, smog! Some people even wear dust masks.


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb