Tibetan monastery


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Gansu » Xiahe
April 25th 2016
Published: April 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

This place was absolutely marvellous and I got there by chance, because of a local traveller recommended that to me and on the same day I hopped on a bus and headed there. I have to say that it is already amazing the road that leads there passing through loess mountains with stunning views allover the place. This monastery is hidden up in the mountain of the Gansu province and it is like a Tibetan world outside of Tibet which is quite unique in China. On arrival, fortunately, not many people were there and I could see groups on monks browsing around this beautiful monastery. People spinning the prayer rolls along the way and the workers that were restoring a part of this monastery gave a good mix to the ambiance of this little town. What I like most of Tibetan culture is the colourful prayer flags. Unfortunately, I had to go back pretty soon ,because of the bus schedule, driving all the way back to Lanzhou which it was where I stayed. I deeply regret not to have stayed there more ,this place deserves at least visit of two/three days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th April 2017
Cerimony

Ceremony
This is my favourite photo of your's Marcos...captures the incredible aura of Tibetan culture like no other. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
14th April 2017
Cerimony

Ceremony
Hello Dave, Yes I just fell in love with Gansu province!!this place was not so far from the capital city of the province lanzhou. I felt awestruck to be in a place where I did not meet any westerners at all, and I felt like to be one of the first people to admire this Tibetan monastery. Stunnig loes Mountain scenary, ancient yellow river, genuine local people, spirituality, yin&yang and good food. This is China...
4th August 2017

Hello
Do you happen to know the name of this place in Chinese? Or what is the town called? thanks!
9th August 2017

Hello
Sorry for the late reply. Anyway the name is Labulengsi and in chinese character is: 拉卜楞寺. It is one of the most beautiful places I have visited in China and with my friends we have published more photos on the web if you wish to have a look. Of all my blogs this one and mystical tana toraja are my favourite. Feel free to have a look to that blog as well and let me know what you think about it, I always appreciate that. Thanks Bye bye

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 22; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb