More Classes


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
December 15th 2005
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I FINALLY went to get some new clothes - which (along with the cell phone) has been something that I've been promising myself that I would do for quite a while now. As for the pictures that I've promised that I'm going to put up on-line it's not that I haven't been trying. I've worked for about two hours trying to put up one picture on-line. It's just that the Internet here is so slow that it's not working. I'm hoping to get Internet at my place so that everything can be a lot faster. But who knows when that will happen. Hopefully not too long from now. In the meantime I may have to send people individual pictures as that seems to work a LOT faster than trying to put them up on this travelblog. There used to be a time when it didn't take too long to put them on the Travelblog but alas, no longer! Anyways, forget the pictures for now. I now have the two new adult tutoring classes and one new Korean boy that I'm tutoring (as you all know by now) and I've been asked to add another adult tutoring class. Yang Dan's (the waitress that I'm tutoring from Easy Way) boss has asked me to tutor him. I'll have to wait and see if my timing matches up with his but his English is even lower than Yang Dan's. Yang Dan is a great student. She seems to know everything that I've taught her every time we meet. It's really great. She says that she gets up in the mornings when we don't have class and studies - which is also really great. I'm also trying to work my way through teaching Camillo a bit - although with what little time he ever has it's been somewhat difficult. I'm also trying to start taking some classes learning how to read and write from Will (Allen's friend). He's a really great guy and we haven't really had a formal class yet but I think it will work out really well our working together. It's getting colder and colder around here and although every place in town is decorated with fake Santa posters, Christmas lights and Christmas trees it really doesn't seem like Christmas. It seems like I am here getting ready to celebrate someone else's holiday. There are a lot of the normal feelings missing from home - the usual getting ready for Christmas, the smells, tastes, sounds, everything is different from usual and so it doesn't really seem like my holiday. When I was in India I celebrated a lot of Indian holidays that were Indian traditions but not my traditions - that's how I feel about Christmas this year. Anyways, I've gotta dash off to the gym before my Chinese class so I'll write more later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb