Hair Styling Model


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dalian
November 15th 2005
Published: November 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I had a really great time at the Salon again. During the day I just had two tutoring students - Sally and Joe. Sally was a handful as usual. Sometimes I'd swear we were baby-sitting her instead of teaching her. Joe was awesome as usual. I was telling Cat that teaching Joe is like teaching Camillo. Not in that they're at the same level but in that they're both so freaking pumped about learning. I'd love to teach kids like that all day long. It's really obvious when someone really is into learning something like that and it makes it really fun to teach them. Joe is at a funny level to teach because he's basically fluent in English and so one has to come up with random debates for him to work out or worldly questions. I also have to know a lot about the world and sometimes it turns out that he's teaching me what he knows since some of it is things I don't know. Last night he was telling me that one shouldn't eat when one's angry because the chemicals that one produces when one's angry don't work well with the process of eating. (And yes, he basically did say it in those exact words.) He's seriously a great kid.

After I tutored Joe I went over to HaoSha to work out. I ran for about 7 minutes and then Cat came over to join me and we both ran for another 20 minutes. I then did a bunch of lifting and took a shower. We walked over to the L Salon to see what was up with everyone and the whole Salon was in the middle of a seriously intense class taught by a man I'd never seen before. I remembered Camillo had said his teacher was coming to visit them from Beijing so I assumed that was who it was. Cat and I waved a brief hello through the window and got our stuff on to go. Then the class decided to take a break and Camillo came out to talk to me. Camillo told me they were looking for a model so their teacher could show them some things and I offered to be their model. I ended up having to wait around for about two and a half hours while the teacher modeled another woman and taught about some of the Bed Head products. I ended up sitting next to Jimmy and passing a couple notes with him. Learned another Chinese character in the process. Camillo kept looking over at me like a lost puppy every now and again. It was a little tiring and I was getting extremely hungry since I hadn't eaten yet but it was worth it. Eventually it was great to be the model for them. I told them they could do whatever they wanted with my hair as long as they didn't color or perm it. Unfortunately I did end up getting about a bucket and a half of sprays and other products in my hair so it looks like it's been waxed right now. It was about midnight when they started on my hair and a bunch of the boys were in the process of falling asleep so I got out my camera for them to take some pictures (I'll put some of them up later) and was smiling and laughing a lot to get them to stay awake and have fun. Afterwards Camillo, Eason and Alex realized that the teacher and I hadn't eaten yet so we went out for some hot pot (like the one we had with Tony and his sister) with another of their friends from work. I had a really great time and Camillo ended up paying me a really high compliment. He told me that my Chinese was better than Cat's (my co-worker). This is a really great compliment because Cat has been in China for six months and I've only been here half that time. Also Cat's family is from China and mine (clearly) isn't. I was really happy to get this compliment and know to some respect it's true. It's funny I still don't think my speaking level is quite up to hers but my understanding level I think is higher. Hopefully my speaking level will soon catch-up. I've been learning a lot with Camillo and hope to continue doing so.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb