Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 11th 2015
Published: April 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Well we have learn ed to use the Beijing Subway and find it easy , fast , clean and at rush hour It is so full it fêels like one is a sardine that POPS out of the can . It,s fun!

Yesterday we spent the day at the Summer Palace and it was great . The weather was perfect @20C and with spectaculaire buildings and wonderful Gardens with Lakes and pagodas we had a good day .

Today we set out walk ing to the Quinamen area and explored some hutongs and shopping streets . Unfortunately I was pickpocketed ...some one took my camera out of my jacket pocket where I had placed it so I could throw things in the garbage ...damn!!! This on top of l'os ing my Kobo on the plane where it must of faillen out of my bag when we were getting of after an 11hour flight. What is it with me and électronicS . As always i had taken some realy good photos whîle we were in Shanghai and i will miss them ...dang

We did continue to explore that area , had some gréât dumpings and steamed buns before Atkins the Subway to the National Art Gallery . After supper we went to a grand théātre to see the Beijing Acrobatic Troupe . What a gréât show . I would guess there were close to 50 peoplé in volved and their streets and agilité were impressive .

Today we chose to have a slow morning as we won't have that luxer y for the next while. Coffrée at COSTA ´s with a panini and Then set of to a shopping area to find me a caméra . Again we got Lucky and This Time were pick ed up by two young m'en . Ai am sûre we wouldn't have found the camera shop with out them . Gouvernement shop so no bargains but I was able to replace my red Canon with the same modèle in pur plé At twice the price I had laid at home ..oh well ...i have a camera!!!

they Then show ed us the Gallery where they and a group of artists were having a show . We each end ed up buy ing a painting for a very réasonable price . I really do need to get more walls...

The rest of the day we spent at the Temple to to Sky. My what a beautiful building . The temperature dropped all day and it is now quite cold . We will be meeting the group in @an hour so I had best go up and comb my haïr. The Hotel only has WiFi in the lobby Which is not that conveNient .

Still no internet cafés in sight so the contest of french/English will continue.

Advertisement



12th April 2015

China!
Wonderful to hear you are safe and sound in China. Sorry about the loss of your camera, hope that is the only "negative" on your adventure. I wonder if those cameras are made in China, and half the price here? Funny. We have had 21C the last two days. The glacier on the garden is almost gone. Happy trails!
12th April 2015

Sorry
to hear about your electronic losses. What a bummer. Glad you got your camera replaced. But what are you reading? That would really drive me mad! As you probably know. We are still in Penticton until Wed. Then it will be on to Calgary. & home Fri. We will be ready to get there & be organized again. The Athertons are fine. Busy!! Confident little people. Bright. Did I say busy! Fun. Anyway, it is good to be spending time with them again. Andrew & Monique are busy with all the activities, gardening, & life in general. Have a good tour. Hi to Susanne. Take care. Love, R&C
14th April 2015

Making Memories
Pam & Suzanne, we have the best memories of our time in Beijing and the many other parts we visited in China. I don't think we road the subway in Beijing but did ride trains in other parts. So sorry about your camera, such a bummer. Most the Chinese people are so honest that I am disappointed, we never worried about that. Happy to her you managed to replace it; it is ironic that one would cost more than it did in Canada, we did buy a couple while we were there for the kids and ourselves. My favorite purchase in China was a silk duvet, not the cover just the duvet itself, I made my own cover out of two queen sheets. We have slept with every night we are home since 2005, just the right weight. It is our understanding that this is a typical wedding gift for young people, it will last a lifetime. Enjoy the food the dumplings sound wonderful, have you had watermelon at the end of every meal? This was the tradition everywhere we ate. All is well here we are busy getting ready for our big road trip and plan to leave on the 27th. On a sad note Barbra is not doing well and is on life support, Leigh says she is not doing well. Enjoy your travels, love hearing all about your adventure. Bye for now, D & J

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb