How have you survived?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SidewalkSidewalkSidewalk

This is the famous yellow path. The one pictured here is by the subway track and so you will notice the bumps are round so that the blind know to stop.
All right, so I've confirmed with a native Beijinger that the yellow path is indeed for the blind. Now, I must clear up something that has not much to do with China, but everything to do with survival. First of all, before I start this discussion I must credit my teacher, Ron. Otherwise I would have no basis for writing on this topic. Still, I must put a disclaimer to notify all of my readers that I am not a computer expert nor am I trying to impersonate one. With that said, Wikipedia is an encyclopedia found online at www.wikipedia.org. The basis of this website is that it is open source, so anyone can have input to the pages found in the encyclopedia. However the site is regulated by peers and so if someone is found to have vandalized a page, the person will no longer have the ability to add or edit more pages within the website. The reason this is so cool is that unlike your normal encyclopedia found in the library, it covers all kinds of topics imaginable, most importantly pop culture concepts. I urge you to check it out, because it can be a great source for
HoHaiHoHaiHoHai

This monument is in Prince Gong's Palace. It is supposed to represent a mother holding a child (if you cross your eyes and squint real hard you might see it). This was to bring luck in having a son.
information. But please remember to use it responsibly and not take every word for the complete truth without a valid cross-reference. It has become an essential part of my learning experience because it is a great starting point for research, which is why I noticed that it is not accessible in China. And in response to Otto's comment, I have caught myself searching Tiananmen Square on Google. Hopefully my identity has not been revealed😉

Anyways, I didn't do much today but go to work. The work environment has become slightly frustrating due to the difference in culture. While I enjoy being left on an independent project, I am used to a smaller power distance where the supervisor is easy to approach and direct answers can be received. Here though, when I ask a question I get either an answer that doesn't really help or like in the case this week, I had to wait for the boss to review the letter and she was out of town. Therefore my work doesn't get done with much speed and it turns out that even though I seem to have been handed a project, I don't really have a whole lot of
HoHaiHoHaiHoHai

Even though the picture is a bit blurry, I was trying to capture the bats that are all over the building to bring good luck.
input into it. I still really like everyone I work with, it is just difficult knowing how to handle the situation without offending someone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

HoHaiHoHai
HoHai

Structure in Prince Gong's Palace
HoHaiHoHai
HoHai

Funny sign in Prince Gong's Palace


6th July 2006

no striding
I get a kick out of the different use in terminology. No striding means no walking/running, but sounds funny to me. It still works tho. When I started emailing with Lisa D in Australia, it took me a very long time before I realized that when I'd say HEY, meaning "what's up" or "Hi", she read it as something like "you know". I've learned to start with "Hi there".....and have also learned to stop reading "HI" when she writes "Hey?" at the end of a sentence! :-) I squinted and crossed my eyes and still saw only a stone statue. Are you googling incognito? Do you know why they consider bats good luck? I find them creepy.
7th July 2006

Everything.....
Hi Tekla, the yellow path is exactly what we have here in Australia but ours isn't for the blind, it's for ordinally people to stop them from slipping. This way it reduces the risk of injury, especially at the train station. I guess no one wants to see someone slip and fall in front of a moving train :) Carla just reminded me of all the laughs she used to have with the write I wrote. Although we use 'hey' to say hi (such as hey there = hi there) we also used hey on the end of a sentence such as 'What do you reckon hey? Tekla, are you finding anything like this at work?

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb