How should we disperse the grand?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 5th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On this fine Wednesday I went to work, nothing very exciting happened. But I did feel as though I was very helpful today, because I was able to make some important corrections of the use of certain English words. The first good deed was done when on our way to lunch Kitty was saying this guy in the accounting department was very "shame". So I had to give a lesson on the difference between "shame" and "shy" to everyone in the elevator. I think they were very greatful to be corrected so that they wouldn't continue to say the wrong thing. The second good English deed was done while helping one of the supervisors revise an email she was sending to an auditor. Basically the document was a series of questions she wanted answered having to do with various monetary accounts. But all of a sudden the questions started dealing with a "grand". My first thought was that she had learned the slang for $1,000, but when I questioned her as to what she meant she told me that they had applied for and the government had given them a "grand". Ah....you mean a grant! It makes me feel a lot better that foreigners have an easy time mixing up similar words in English. I think each time I repeat a word in Chinese it means something different, or nobody understands what I'm saying because I have changed the inflection ever so slightly.
Since nothing much else happened today, I would like to make all of you Wikipedia addicts aware that you shouldn't take such awesome services for granted. I mean I think we are all aware that just having electricity is a blessing, but has it ever crossed your mind that once you have access to the internet you still might not be able to see everything that someone else in another part of the world can? Well, apparently Wikipedia is one of those sites that Chinese people are not allowed to see. I've tried at the dorm and at work, but when I click on a hyperlink to a Wikipedia website, it comes up with the "page cannot be found" message. I am not sure if there are other websites like this that the government has blocked, but now every time I get the "this page cannot be found" message I have to stop and think whether there is any reason it might be being blocked or whether its server is just down at the moment.

Advertisement



5th July 2006

You may be on a list
Every time you try to access a forbidden site you may be alerting everyone to your subversive actions. Otto
6th July 2006

wiki-what?
Just imagine all the freedoms we have and aren't aware of. I've never used a Wikipedia until reading your blog.
6th July 2006

Wiki what?
Pardon my ignorance, but what exactly is Wikipedia?
6th July 2006

Hello Tekla!
I have been enjoying all of the information you are sharing, but also find it quite amusing all of the questions you are being asked. Obviously, they are things many of us have not thought of before. Stay safe and enjoy!!
7th July 2006

Wikipedia
Hi Tekla I do remember reading that that particular site was NOT available in China. I believe it has TOO much information and probably tells other than the government wants people to see and compare. Yes, the more you travel the more you can appreciate what total freedom we have of many things.
7th July 2006

other websites you can not access
any private blog with the "blogspot" as part of its address, any website with "geocities" as part of its address,

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0807s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb