All By Myself!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 28th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

You can all be very proud of me today! I managed to go from work tonight back home all by myself. This involved walking from the office to the subway, getting on the subway and off at the right station, walking back to the dorm, and ending up with bloodied up feet. So what if I feel like I'll never be able to walk again, just getting on and off the subway is a feat in itself with all the pushing involved and I only got off track once, but managed to quickly put myself back on course. The only thing I have to go by is my memory because when there are street signs, they are impossible for me to read. I must also say that I got over quite quickly the awkward feeling of being pushed out of the way when I was clearly standing in line, now I push with the rest of them😊
Work was good today, I had three documents to proofread and have been researching and brainstorming on a marketing strategy for the company. I asked today if they had any previous promotional information and all I got was a smile, so I have already set out on the task of coming up with some type of brochure to give when recruiting new clients. I met more people in the office and they even ate lunch again with me today. The only downside is that they watch me very carefully while I eat and they are constantly giggling at me. One girl told me I held my chopsticks funny, which is probably true, I just can't get the hang of them.
Finger food is my friend. This morning I tried one of the breakfast fares from a street vender outside the dorm. It was kind of like a "Chinese Egg McMuffin", basically a fried egg surrounded by flaky pastry and covered with BBQ sauce and garnished with lettuce. All for 1 Yuan, or about 13 U.S. cents.
The pictures for today's post are due to a special request asking for pictures of my work and of me in China, just to make sure I was actually in China and not just downloading these pictures from some website. And Lisa, we did meet some Aussies touring in Tienanmen square, but that's about it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



28th June 2006

chopsticks
Aren't you using the chopsticks Otto and Jenni gave you? That would show them! :-) Is everything there very grey, or is it just your pictures? It seems like it's always overcast and just grey, including the buildings. How's the weather been?
28th June 2006

Yahoooooooo
Another big adventure for you Tekla! Each day will be easier and look for landmarks with the streeet signs. Yes I remember when we were in Japan and I could not get over how people pushed. They also loved Holly's blonde hair , touched it a lot. Also wanted to know if she could blue out of the blue eyes! Guess we never think of these things! Good pics of the area. How clean are the grounds. The air quality doesn't look so great.....As for the chopsticks, whatever gets the food to the mouth works! Smiles, Aunt Bev
29th June 2006

The NRAO in Green Bank, WV, USA thanks you.
On behalf of all of us (well, at least some of us) here at the NRAO in Green Bank, WV, USA, I thank you for representing our institution as you travel abroad. Cute photos! Thanks for fulfilling the special request.
29th June 2006

Ice Cream?
No strange ice cream today Tekla??
29th June 2006

feet
Sorry about your feet, but they will toughen up. Too bad you don't have more weight on your frame to keep your place in line! Is the group in your photo all involved with your program? How many of you are in the group? I'm proud of you for finding your way home. Takes guts to try it alone in a large city for the first time.
30th June 2006

trip
Hey Tekla good for you, but don't be getting lost over there! I'm with Lisa... no tomato ice cream or what... you're slippin' Say- the picture of you in front of the statue- was that taken at Tiannenman Square (not sure on the spelling[sorry])?

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb