First Day of Work


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
June 27th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Whew! What a long day! Today I started my internship with NCO Consulting, here in Beijing. I am supposed to get to work by 9am, but since this was the first day someone else was taking me and they weren't on time so I didn't get in until 10:30am, after sitting in traffic and then learning the ropes of the subway. The office is in a big skyscraper, on the 25th floor. When I first got there I was introduced to my manager, Amy, and then the boss, Luka Lu. They outlined my duties as proofreading english documents, marketing their services, and giving english lessons to the office. So my work today consisted of proofreading a letter to be sent out to an english speaking client and doing research on how to market their services.
The company was started in February and is a division of a law firm, so right now they have enough clients to work with, but want to ensure continued business growth. Luka's suggestion was that I get NCO's information out to the various chambers of commerce and their current members. The gist of the business is that it performs and/or coordinates the services involved with incorporating a company in China or incorporating a Chinese company outside of China.
Everyone in the office was really nice. Amy, Linda, and Rachel seemed to take me under their wings and so I went to lunch with them in the cafeteria in the building's basement. Lunch was a buffet style and very hearty with three different kinds of meat dishes, four different vegetable dishes, buns, rice, noodles, and soup. The amazing thing was that each of these three girls (the tallest one being the same height as me) piled the food on their trays, completely cleaned them off and then went to the market to get snacks for the afternoon! I don't understand how they all stay so skinny. Oh, and I had the pinto bean ice cream for snack today, that one was gross.
Linda even took me all the way back to my subway station, after work, to make sure I didn't get lost. We left the office at 6pm and I got back to the dorm at 7:30pm! Hopefully this experience stays fresh in my mind and I will remember to always live close to work😊
In answer to Lisa's questions about the Chinese people, I think my experience today at work definitely showed how willing people are to help and make you feel comfortable. The only negative experience I've had is when we were trying to find the zoo and everyone Rob asked (in Chinese) pointed in a different direction. The term given to this cultural aspect is "saving face". Apparently saying "I don't know" is not acceptable and so they save face by giving some answer to the question, whether it is right or not. Then there is the Chinese driving..... all I have to say is that they are just as pushy as drivers as they are in the subway station. My roommate has experienced more staring, as she is blonde and tall. Otherwise, since I have no clue what anyone is saying, everyone seems to be very pleasant here.

Advertisement



27th June 2006

For real? Pinto bean ice cream?
Okay, here at BGSU, we want to know just what the heck is wrong with you? Pinto bean ice cream? Seriously! I was wondering when you were going to get to work! I thought maybe you'd forgotten about that part! Since you're ahead of us in time, Lisa here at work said to tell you that if something happens there in the future, don't write about it because we want to be surprised when it happens here in the present! :-) Sounds like you're having a great experience!
28th June 2006

Blonde
When Kellie went to Japan, she said all the girls with blonde hair got a lot of attention. Her crazy roommate (she's the one who volunteered Kellie to take showers with her to save time) dyed her hair while she was there to get more attention. So, I can't wait to see you as a blonde.--send pictures.
28th June 2006

Aussies
Hi Tekla. Good to hear that they are friendly over there. I'm with Carla regarding the 'Pinto Bean Ice Cream'????? Are there an Australians over there?
28th June 2006

work
I have received brochures like this touting product or production facilities. While they are often professionally printed and very slick looking, the translations are usually weak. I just got one from a garlic brining company yesterday. Glad you're making friends.

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb