What a difference a day makes


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
September 21st 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

CCTV BuildingCCTV BuildingCCTV Building

Also known as the 'underpants' building here
Hi everybody,

Sorry we haven't written for a while, things here have been a little depressing, the smog rolled in a couple of days ago (the day I wrote my last blog I think), and that gave me some sort of disgusting head cold and a saw throat and stuff like that, and just when I started getting better I think Susie ate something she shouldn't and now she's not feeling so good...Although she's a little better this morning after drugging herself up.

Anyways, because of that, we haven't really been up to very much in the last few days. On Saturday, Sue went to the Panjiayuan Antique Markets and went a bit crazy buying souveneirs and paintings and presents for people so that was cool, but that was the day I was sick. so I stayed in bed most of the day, then downloaded some movies to watch, because my conscience has also gone on holidays - when in Rome... Afterwards we went to an Aussie Bar, but since I got my time difference wrong (you guys are 2 hours ahead, not behind), I missed the Broncos smash the Dragons, and instead got stuck watching the Geelong game. The pub was full of Melbournians. They're so dumb. We were supposed to go see a few bands later that night, but I wasn't feeling up to it, so everybody piked on my account - don't I feel great!

Next day...well, we both felt rubbish on Sunday. So the day can basically be summed up by us lying in bed wishing we weren't both at death's door. I felt a bit better by about 6:00, so I wanted to check out that Snack Street again, to see if it was any different at night. It is different at night - it's darker. Otherwise, it's pretty much the same, very cool though still, I'll probably go there again anyway, it's awesome seeing so many people eating so much DISGUSTING food! I think I discovered in my book on the way to class this morning that there is another bit a bit further down that might be better, so I'll try to track that down.

The problem with maps and books here is that they are all out of date by the time they've hit the shelves. I got really confused last week on a walk because the map I
Kids!Kids!Kids!

Kids are cool here
was following said that there was a cool little Hutong to the left, but there was just a gaudy Cartier building in the way, I only realised the next day that they had knocked down the hutong to put that in it's place. It's a shame really, because some of those places are amazing, and they are sort of the essence of Beijing - at least they are what I expected to see when I came here, but they're all getting axed for western shops. They do the new shops pretty well though, they are nice to walk through and the buildings aren't ugly.

There's one shop near the snack shop that I'll have to take Susie back to when she's feeling a bit better - it's a handicrafts market - but a good one - in a 6 floor building, and all the stuff is really well made (well, as far as I can see anyway). Lots of Jade carvings and paper cuttings and fabrics and fans and that sort of stuff.

Anyway, when I got home last night, almost all the lights were off, and I found out that the guys upstairs had forgotten to pay
Nightime in WanfujingNightime in WanfujingNightime in Wanfujing

The shopping strip at night
the electricity, so we were expecting it to run out any minute. In Beijing you have prepaid Electricity - dumb idea. And since Kate & Lloyd are living in half a unit, with some other guys living in the upper half, it's their job to look after the electricity - they didn't, and so the power went out last night. That wasn't much fun.

But the good news is that it was rainy and windy for the last couple of nights, which normally, anywhere else, isn't a good thing, but here, it means that there will be blue skies and sun and clean air the next day, and that's what we woke up to this morning - and all of a sudden, Beijing is the best place in the world again - even if we are sick!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Snack Street at NightSnack Street at Night
Snack Street at Night

Actually, this is just off snack street, where they sell the souveneirs
DAYLIGHTDAYLIGHT
DAYLIGHT

Blue skies, smiling at me, nothing but blue skies, do I see!!!


21st September 2009

I strongly resent that comment about Melbournians!!!! And yes, having lived here for nearly 7 years I think I can count myself among the number! We Melbournians are an intelligent, CULTURED set. ;) Sorry you guys aren't feeling well. Give our love to Kate and Lloyd. xxx Jane
23rd September 2009

hello from dust bowl
hi Ray, Sounds like you still having fun hope sue no too sick. You better get to see broncos this weekend. we having very bad dust storms at the moment all over East Coast of Aus. Its all Red!! amazing. Brooke just asked me, that "if Ray was here do you think he would be able to see it"???????? That provided much laughs.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb