The White Temple


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
September 24th 2009
Published: September 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody.

Finally convinced myself that I don't care if I'm sick, I'm not wasting any more of this holiday watching The Office...although I really do like watching The Office, so maybe that will change...

Anyway, I flicked through a book, found a temple I wanted to go visit, and at 3:00 finally worked out how I was going to get there! Unfortunately, it closed just as I arrived, but it didn't matter, you can still see it from the hutong I was walking through, and I got to check out a few other things as I walked through.

It's a funny place, there is a shop for everything, and they're all in the same place, if that makes sense. For example, today, after I left the closed temple, I was walking along the road and there was a shop I walked past that sold used trophies - I'm not joking. And if you think that's obscure, well, there were twenty of those shops in a row. Then it changed to plumbing repairs, and then it changed to incense vendors, because there was a buddhist temple up ahead, and then around the corner it turned to smashed up computer components stores. If I ever need to buy any of those things, I know where to go. Right now, I bet that the words "hammock district" are going through Troy's mind...

Afterwards I strolled around to a little park just to have a look around. I probably should have stayed there a little bit longer, it's one of those awesome places just to have a bit of a sit down and watch the people for a few hours. There were people dancing, playing hacky-sack/volleyball, old men playing Mahjong and cards, and comparing their little birds in their little cages. And six million dogs peeing everywhere.

I went home after that. Susie's still not well, but definitely improving, so hopefully tomorrow she'll be up and about. A couple of Kate & Lloyd's friends dropped around today to give Susie some gifts to make her feel better, so that was very nice!

Righto, that's all, hope everybody's well and you don't have lungs filled with red dust - now you guys know what it's like here!!!

Bye!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Old menOld men
Old men

Comparing their little birds - it's what they do
The Sun!The Sun!
The Sun!

You can stare at the sun here!!!


26th September 2009

Sounds like you'r having a great time
Hi guys, Wow, some of your blogs have bought back lots of memories. Just thought I would say for the fifteenth time (in case you don't remember). . . I'm so jealous! I actually saw Maos' embalmed body and if you look at one of his ears really closely you can see the stitch marks where they had to sew it back on, cos if fell off a few years back. He's really freaky. I also empathise with you over being sick. Sue, I lost six kilos in six weeks when I was there, thanks to some dodgy Beijing Kao Ya and Sweet 'n Sour Pork. The Summer Palace took my breath away too, such extravagance and all at the expense of tax payers! The lake was frozen when I was there which was cool. Well guys, I hope you keep having an awesome time and that you both get better soon. And remember, not all karaoke bars are 'karaoke' bars, if you get my drift :o)
28th September 2009

Great Song
Hi there, I heard a fantastic song the other day, they were playing it over and over again on TV, it went something like this: "We are Geelong, the greatest team of all, We are Geelong, we're always on the ball, We play the game as it should be played, At home or far away, Our banners fly high, from dawn to dark, down at Kardinia Park." (REPEAT SEVERAL TIMES). By the way Ray, Geelong won the grand final. GO CATS! Oh, and the Broncos got slammed by the Storm. Garrett must have been crying for sure.
29th September 2009

hey rayman and suepoo! hope you guys are fully recovered soon! chloe was sick in taiwan - it's not pretty being sick in a foreign country. although we found the hospital to be better than what we'd get here! we were there for 3 weeks and only got to the internet once. so coming home has given me heaps to catch up on here!! can't wait to hear more when you get back. my favourite translation-funny in taiwan was in a restaurant which the menu said served "sheet iron mixed seafood" and "according to burns the chicken leg food" and of course "halogen chicken leg food". all of which you can wash down with a refreshing glass of "orange juice with lactic acid".
30th September 2009

mandy
Ha ha Loved all the comment.... just as well you didn't sit for a few hours in the park as one of the six million dogs might have chosen you as their next stop!!!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb