My Days In-Between


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
August 31st 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Life post-employment has been interesting… as far as an ego boost goes it’s been really encouraging to receive phone calls and messages from students who sadly express their disappointment over my departure. One girl who had just returned from her vacation, was informed of my departure and called me immediately to find out how I was doing and to tell me how much she missed me. My students are very sweet and will be greatly grieved by me. They truly were a spectacular bunch of individuals.

During Christi's stay a couple students were determined to introduce us to various cuisine and treated us to some evenings out. The first student and his wife took both Christi and I out for dinner to experience the tastiness of Sichuan delicacies. It was an extraordinary feast with amazing spices and we sampled the house specialty of rabbit haunches. (Sorry Kipling!) I regrettably admit to all bunny lovers out there, that I am now a huge fan. It was delicious. I had only taught this student once, but he was determined to keep in touch when he heard of my dismissal and eager for me to meet his wife. They are both such lovely people, and I plan to remain in contact with them. I will not be robbed of connections! Bob and Annie, another couple I used to teach, took us out to sample traditional Beijing fare. I have now ingested stomach, liver and intestines (among other things!) I actually found the liver to be quite nice and had a good time being dared to try these strange dishes. I like new experiences and it was very kind of them to treat us.

Being granted all this spare time allowed for more adventures with Christi (though on a restricted budget!) At one point we attempted to escape for a picnic, but instead ended up in the middle of the nearest park (which happens to also house an amusement centre) so our venture into peace was interrupted by Chinese music and loud and chaotic noises and sound effects. Our deal had been that we were only allowed to pack Chinese branded products as our snacks… so we had an odd assortment of kiwi and meat flavored chips, mushroom shaped chocolate/cookies, white milk chewy candies, peaches, and some odd crackers. This feast quickly made us feel ill, but was good fun at the time.

Friday we encountered a bit of a fiasco in the airport. As she was checking in we were informed that they had overbooked the flight and (as she had a Canadian passport and did not require a visa) they were going to reroute her to L.A. and then catch a later connecting flight. I was horrified at this news as I was not comfortable with the idea of a minor (whom I have been responsible for) being abandoned in L.A. and who knows what else further complications. I readily expressed by displeasure and flatly refused that option for her (I have turned into a ridiculous mother). Luckily, they were able to convince a businessman to postpone his departure and she was able to claim her seat. Sigh. It seems as if this past week has been fraught with misadventure. I have felt quite mad at times, and I confess that the only way I have attempted to save and cling to my sanity has been to spend each evening, hidden away behind curtains in my window seat, lighting a candle, listening to my ipod, and staring out the window into the night and just breathing. Trying to register and attempt to make peace with my reality. Haha, I am officially nuts.

The tutoring school that I have a couple of students through has been so helpful during this stressful time. They are very supportive and encouraging and have been trying to find more work for me. I have been meeting more students and also might interview for a kindergarten job they have found. We shall see what transpires, so keep the fingers crossed and the prayers upwards! Finding new work might interfere with the Chinese lessons I've begun (and really enjoyed) but hopefully I will be able to arrange my schedule, or find a class, that fits around my work.

On the roommate front I have news! Emily and Fabien posted an ad to inform the Beijing community that her room would be opening up in the near future and we received many interested replies. Last Thursday we were lounging about in our filthy mess of a place... Emily and Fabien had just returned from a trip to Mongolia and Christi's life was scattered about the living room. I knew I needed to motivate myself to responding and interviewing these possible roommates, so I texted the first respondent to schedule a meeting time. He immediately called me back, requesting to see it that evening as he was leaving on a business trip the next day and would be gone for two weeks. Slightly horrified, I glanced around the apartment, taking in the utterly unimpressive cluttered sight... and agreed to meet in 20 minutes. This announcement threw our place into an uproar. We all pitched in and began the most hilarious of frantic cleanings. Emily attacked the bathroom, Christi the kitchen, while I dashed about the main living area and balcony... all this was accompanied by the sound of Fabien freaking out in Emily's room (the most important area to show) at the glorious shambles it was in. To save time they just chucked EVERYTHING into my room and thus were able to present a decent abode. Simon, the 27-year-old Swedish architect showed up on time and was introduced to a "clean" madhouse of semi-hysterical sweaty people. Luckily for all parties involved he took to the place right away and fit right in... plus he promised to cook swedish meatballs for me and have dinner parties, so I was easily convinced that we would be able to live in harmony. I secretly plan on using him for language learning as well. Muahaha. Perhaps I shall be more fluent in Swedish, rather than Chinese upon returning home? That would be silly. Anyways, he moves in after his return from Japan, so it's perfect timing for Emily and Fabien to find a suitable residence in Wudaokou. That really worked out quite nicely.

Well... this is my life. And so it goes...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb