Unlikely Events


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 17th 2009
Published: July 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Truly China is the land of opportunity... and random chances.

During yesterday's last class my teaching manager entered the room to request that I meet with him during the break we have between the first and last half of the 2 hour teaching session. A completely harmless request, but with the frightening working conditions of this company I couldn't help feeling slightly uneasy over the impending meeting, and I spent some minutes wracking my brain to try and remember any indiscretion I had commited recently. (They change their minds constantly over proper decorum). I couldn't recall anything incriminating, and attempted to let the matter go in my mind and concentrate on the task at hand - discussing various degrees of drunkeness with my students (the things they wish to learn!) Eventually the break arrived and I met with my manager. His request: that I come in today and teach the SINGING CLASS!!! Buahahahahahaha. It is well known fact, both far and wide, that I am a greivously horrific singer and I had no problem sharing this tiny detail with my manager... a fact that didn't seem to phase him. Apparently he had heard me singing to myself one day as I exited the elevator - and the fact that I knew lyrics to songs was enough for him. The truth of the matter is that I really needed a ride home that day as I was hoping to make it to a friend's show on time, and my manager had his car, so I traded my self-respect and chose to humble/humliate myself in exchange for a ride home. (Fair deal?) Luckily for me the cd release party of "Girls Are Waiting To Meet You" (GAWTMY) was fantastic and well worth the impending mortification that the following morning was to provide. It almost reminded me of being back in Vancouver when I was out at the show last night. I have always loved seeing my talented friends perform, and really recognized yesterday how much I have missed attending live shows... and if you know the band it's always a plus!

This morning arrived all too soon, and upon waking I groaned with the realization that I had yet to pick a song to shame myself with. I chose to let fate decide, opened up itunes and, eyes-shut, selected a song. Thus, today I taught a group of students how to sing "I'm Yours" by Jason Mraz. It was an experience... and I LOVED IT! Haha. I checked my vanity at the door and just settled in to having fun with the class. It was a really good listening exercise for them and, while learning the melody of the song was quite the challenge for them, they were such good sports that by the end of the class they could almost follow along perfectly. (I was so proud!) My manager was pleased and said the students really liked me, so I guess it was a successful day... I must admit that I never ever expected that my life would have me being the singing coach of a voice class. Our paths are strange ones.

I have begun gathering dvds. Our internet continues to thwart us and consequently we have been at a loss for entertainment. I gleaned worthy information off of Emily's boyfriend of where I might find a goldmine of cheap dvd's and so this week found me snooping around attempting to discover this magical place. Once I happened upon it I spent many happy hours snooping around, picking up then discarding numerous films. It was so hard to decide! For less than $20 I got 12 dvds, and some of them were excellent old b/w classics that would have cost a fortune to find back home. I am thrilled and can't wait to slowly keep adding to what I hope will be an extensive collection. Woot.

I had a meeting on Wednesday to interview for a one-on-one tutoring job. Excellent pay and the gentleman lives in Dongzhimen as well! We decided to meet over coffee and spent a happy hour just chatting about ourselves and our lives and really seemed to click. We hope to continue meeting once or so a week, which would really help my strained financial situation! I really enjoyed my time with him and think that I will be able to learn much as we discuss our days and cultures together.

If you want to send prayers my way I would appreciate petitions for the visa situation (Sept. 15), money (eww), and continuing good opportunites. Xie xie.

Still no word on when facebook is going to be allowed again. Sigh. I missed out on seeing a friend of mine I met in San Diego when she was coming through Beijing because we didn't exchange numbers - facebook being the "easiest" form of contact. Well blast it all, because we were prevented from meeting up. Heartbreaking.

I need to do laundry.

Much love,
Lyn (this is what I get called here).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb