The Art District


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 11th 2009
Published: April 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Juliet and I explored 798 Art District today. It's located in what once was a largely abandoned military electronics complex, but now is transformed into unbelievable gallery and studio space. Even the exterior of several of the buildings has been made into art. Such a funky place, fringing at times into overtly touristy (unfortunately) but still lovely to see. Only the photos can really portray the wonderful time we had. (I will do my best to find some time to upload some soon!)

I braved fresh vegetables today! I have been avoiding all uncooked veggies in an attempt to prevent diarrhea while out and about. (Note: thus far have not suffered unusual bowel movements). However, when passing a small cafe, we noticed this woman enjoying a tasty looking salad, and suddenly there was nothing to be done but have one for ourselves as well. The soup and salad we indulged in for lunch was the first "western food" I've had since my arrival. I must admit, that I miss the variety of foods available at home. Mostly because I am not overly fond of "western food", but do greatly enjoy other countries cuisine. I'm sure once I explore the city more, I will find a greater variety... but at the moment my options are: Chinese, Chinese, Western (very poor), or Chinese. Ha. So it is no wonder that I braved an upset stomach to taste fresh peppers, grilled chicken, mixed greens, and other such taken for granted comforts. Happy to report that thus far, I seem to have survived nicely. Not even a rumble of discomfort.

About the toilets... you don't flush your toilet paper. Seriously bad news if you do. Every western-style toilet has a small trash beside it (that you don't really want to look too closely in) and that's where you HAVE to remember to toss your tp into. I have to talk myself through every bathroom break, just to remember. It's difficult to retrain yourself. Oh, I also experienced my first public squat toilet yesterday. (The stall had doors but no toilet paper) It actually wasn't so bad (good for the thighs!) It would be tricky if you had a less than cooperative digestive tract however. Hmmm.

Just killing time before our dinner reservation for the Peking Duck tonight. Juliet and I have been looking forward to this meal all day. Hopefully it lives up to our expectations. I'm just excited to try something new.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb