[b]Arrived in Beijing![/b]


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, after an 11.5 hour flight, I have finally arrived safe and sound in Beijing. No real complaints over the journey, only three (pretty terrible) movies were playing looped over and over. I watched Finding Nemo and got a little sentimental/emotional over the fish's journey, then realized that I really needed to sleep as I was clearly losing it. The food was pretty yummy... bok choy with everything! I mostly tried to doze to pass the time, so was pretty groggy when we landed. I had been a little nervous about passing through Customs armed only with my one-way ticket, but luckily there were no major issues there. The subject was actually never discussed and no proof of exit was required! Beijing is 15 hours ahead of everyone at home so I'm pretty tired at the moment, but perking up a little. The airport was surprisingly easy to navigate, they have these train shuttles between different sections of the airport, but lots of English signs made it easy to get around.
Made my way out and was ushered into a cab right away. The driver didn't speak English, but laughed at my funny red sunglasses and proceeded to attempt to find my hostel off my printed out directions. I was definitely over-charged, but had anticipated and come to terms with the fact that I wouldn't be able to argue with him. Plus, it was a really relaxing ride. Yes, traffic is crazy and you wonder that there aren't more pile-ups, but it didn't really phase me. Horns go off all around you, but if you actually look at the people driving, they aren't ruffled at all.
I noticed a lot of pink concrete buildings during the drive. We drove past Tiananmen Square... it looked really impressive, and I can't wait to explore it. My hostel is located in the hutong section. How to describe the hutongs... picture narrow alley-ways crammed with vendors and piped music and people. It's this hectic, colorful, noisy chaos. My cabbie dropped me off and pointed down an alley, motioning that my hostel was down there somewhere. I half didn't believe him, but interested in adventure, hoisted my bags and headed down the hutong, marveling in the sights and smells. I saw people eating strange barbecued creatures, and others just sitting smoking on the side of the road playing cards. Luckily Leo Hostel was located at the end of the hutong and I've been checked in comfortably. The hostel is really charming inside and the staff is lovely. Not much planned for tonight, try and take it easy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th April 2009

glad to hear you arrived safe! i'm so excited to hear all your stories

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb