Beijing Miscellany


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 28th 2009
Published: March 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just a few odds & ends to share from the past few days. To be honest, I have about 200 pics from each day, and have had a real tough time selecting the ones I did for the blog postings. Enjoy these last few, as we are packing our bags up tomorrow morning and heading home. Can’t wait!

Hope you have had as much fun as I have had blogging this trip, and you enjoyed following along on this wonderful adventure! Zajian! Goodbye!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

T's Drink of ChoiceT's Drink of Choice
T's Drink of Choice

Chinese Coke. Ganbei!!!
Happy BuddhaHappy Buddha
Happy Buddha

Clowning around in the jade market!
Phoenix and DragonPhoenix and Dragon
Phoenix and Dragon

Symbolizing male and female, emperor and empress. The pair is mirrored on each side of an imperial entry way, with the dragon usually on the inside, protecting the door. During the Dragon Lady's reign, she switched the order here at the Summer Palace.
Mobile blood donorMobile blood donor
Mobile blood donor

The bus drove right up on the walkway before Wangfujung Street.
Bread TalkBread Talk
Bread Talk

Became one of our favourite breakfast/lunch places. This bakery had all kinds of fancy breads and pastries, with inventive names. T's choice - "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Bacon"
Tiananmen GateTiananmen Gate
Tiananmen Gate

The Gate of Heavenly Peace, with Mao's portrait, in the daylight, as we are leaving the Forbidden City.
Wangfujing at NightWangfujing at Night
Wangfujing at Night

Wangfujing is a popular shopping street, with a large part of it pedestrianized. The crowd each night was almost overwhelming. Our hotel was only about a block off of this very busy corner!
National Grand TheaterNational Grand Theater
National Grand Theater

A very impressive building along Xichang'an Jie, across from the Forbidden City and the 'Great Hall of the People' - the colossal home of the National People's Congress (a very soviet-style communist government building!). Apparently, there was some controversy when this was built, as some Beijing'ers thought it was too modern and an eye sore next to those important structures.
NikeTown BeijingNikeTown Beijing
NikeTown Beijing

Thomas came, saw and conquered NikeTown Beijing. It wasn't really that big....
Wangfujing Snack StreetWangfujing Snack Street
Wangfujing Snack Street

We got as far as the gate before being forced back by the usual aroma of Chinese street snacks.... yummy!!!!


29th March 2009

Ni hao! (Hello)
Just packing our bags strategically. We have laughed so much! I am looking forward to coming home. We have been away just the right amount of time. I have found it very hard to be in a country where you can not speak or read the language. I have found it hard to keep my eyes to the ground trying to avoid the spit. Stop and stare at us. We felt that we were a tourist attraction ourselves. Being that Jeff and I were considered to be husband and wife with Thomas our one child and a grandparent following behind. On two occasions I was actually asked to pose with locals to have their picture taken with them not to mention times when we weren't aware of the picture taking! Yesterday on the train a little boy pointed at me and laughed with his Dad. I tried to give the a Canadian toonie but the wouldn't accept it. Another funny thing that I have been trying to get Jeff to photography but he probably couldn't put it on the blog are the toddlers and what I have affectionately termed "split pants". The kids have a split in the bumb of their pants obviously for quick access for potty training. Yes, I have seen them in training. Every time I pass a "split pant"I look back and sure enough their little cheeks are exposed! Lastly, the "hole"! All I can say is that the Chinese must have amazing quads! I am proud to say that my quads got very little work out in China. I am a strategic player. It is no wonder the Chinese always dominate in athletics. They start early in the "split pant" age to develop these muscles! Off to perfect the chopstick one more time!
29th March 2009

comment on blogs
Hi travellers, Just wanted to let Jeff kow that I truly have enjoyed all his blogs and thought that they have been truly amazing. Felt like almost like we were there your commentary was so good. The pictures, the description of the places all were just great, great, great!!!!! Dawn I would of commented earlier (yes I am blonde and computer illiterate) but just figured out that I could comment!!!! See ya when you get home.... I know that you will have lots and lots of stories!!!!

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb